Soldering Copper

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jackrabbit

Can anyone (Moderator) tell me if it is ok to post a question that is work related? I'm a self employed plumber and builder with a job related question. I have searched Goggle and found no answer, hoping someone here may have knowledge of my need.
Figured I'd ask first so as not to upset anyone. If need be I can use email for the question if need be.
Thanks,
Jack:confused:

cybertech

Retired Moderator
I'm not sure why you posted this in the Do It Yourself Projects forum, but go ahead and ask your question. If it seems inappropriate I'll let you know. If I'm not sure I'll ask the other mods/admins.

:) Hello jackrabbit.

I'm not a moderator, but there should not be a problem posting a work related question. The only question would be which forum would best suit the question. I suggest posting it here, as I'm sure a Mod will move it if the need arises.

Kilowatt

jackrabbit

OK, I have a job comming up where I have to form, break, install, and solder copper parapet wall caps. I can solder copper drains or supply lines, but that is all hidden in walls. This copper will be exposed and everyone will see it so I can not discolor it or distort the shape (which a torch may do) I'm thinking you need to use a soldering iron and thiner than normal solder. Then there is the problem of cleaning and fluxing, you realy do not want to sand outside of the overlaped joints or you will see the scratches.

cybertech

Retired Moderator
Sounds like a good question. Perhaps changing your thread title will get more response. You can PM me if you want to do that.

Good luck on the job! :eek:

jackrabbit