1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: 2 computers on network cannot be accessed?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by daniels012, Feb 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    We have a small business trying to get a network setup through Windows XP
    We have 8 computers total. 1 is wireless.
    We have a T1 line coming in from our phone provider. We have a Belkin Router setup, which has 3 computers connected to it and a switch in the 4th port.
    The switch (linksys) connects the other 4 computers.

    Here are the issues I am having:
    1) one of the computers uses Windows98, it will not connect. I can however, ping the default gateway and it has an assigned ip address (via ipconfig)
    2) two of the computers use Windows 2000, they will not connect. Same, I can ping and confirm an ipaddress.
    3) No one can access 2 of the computers. IP addresses 192.168.2.2 & 192.168.2.4

    I have no idea why??? :confused: I turned off firewalls, virus protection??? No ideas.:eek:

    Any help to access these 2 computers would be greatly appreciated!
    Michael
     
  2. inetbogey

    inetbogey

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    286
    the first thing that comes to my mind is, are they in the same workgroup?
    can you see them in network neighborhood/my network places?
    the 2 IP addresses you showed are fine, you might want to use a class C subnet mask
    (255.255.255.000) do not use xxx.xxx.xxx.0 or128 or 255 for any of your IP addresses.
    the default gateway should be your routers private address. 192.168.2.1
    if your ISP has a router/modem off the T1 then you might try a cross over cable from your router to their router.
    good luck.
     
  3. inetbogey

    inetbogey

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    286
    forgot, all computers are useing TCP/IP?
     
  4. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    First off let me say, Thank You for responding.:) :)

    Keep in mind I am very limited in my knowledge of Networking. We have a business with about 10 computers. NO Network guru (unless you count me). I really just followed the instructions of my Belkin Router I installed to get the settings. I know how to ipconfig, release, renew, and ping. That is about it.

    to answer some of your questions:
    1) Yes we are all in the same workgroup
    2) I can see them in network neighborhood/Network Places
    3) Not sure what a Class C subnet is . When they hooked up the T1 line I know they gave me the 255.255.255.0 to enter in.
    4)The default gateway is indeed 192.168.2.1
    5) Not sure what the ISP has coming in. There is a phone line junction box that comes in (I assume this is the T1 line). It then hooks into a box 12"x16" with lights that say: status, power, voice, data, net, dsx-1, link, td/rd . We plug the router into the back in the ethernet port.
    6) Not clear on the cross over cable?

    Michael
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If you're connected to the Internet with some of the systems, you can forget about any issues with the T1 line or it's connection to the router.

    Let's work on one at a time.

    On one of the 2K computers, do this:

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.
     
  6. inetbogey

    inetbogey

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    286
    If i understand you, you can see all computers on your LAN network. yes?
    next is you can not access the win 2000 machines inbox? yes?
    ( do you get a "logon" box when you click on the 2000's inbox?)
    next none of you have internet access?
    the cross over cable in an ethernet cable that might be "yellow" in color.
    it might be marked as "cross over".
    the ethernet wire, does it go from the router port marked "WAN" to the "box 12"x16" with lights"
    i will wait for some answers.
    did not see your post until i posted.....................So disregard my post and lets go with JohnWill's post.
     
  7. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    OK! This is strange. I turned off the computers of the Win98 & 2000 machines. Now, they have access to the internet and all the other computers. Weird.

    The only issue now... Those 2 computers. No one can access the 2 systems with IP addresses I mentioned earlier. They however can access all the other computers, but not each other.

    Ideas?

    Michael
     
  8. inetbogey

    inetbogey

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    286
    do you have the "guest" profile turned on for both 2000 boxes?
     
  9. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Yes, the 2000 boxes work fine now. The 2 copmuters in question are Windows XP machines.

    MIchael
     
  10. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    JohnWill,
    I ran the ipconfig all as you requested on one of the 2000 machines.
    Results below:


    C:\Documents and Settings\Guest>ipconfig /all

    Windows 2000 IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DaveJones
    Primary DNS Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : SurfaceSystems

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : SurfaceSystems
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VM Network Connecti
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-02-A5-CF-1A-FB
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.4
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, February 14, 2007 11:05:3
    5 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, February 11, 2017 11:05:35
    AM
     
  11. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    JOhnWill,
    Is this what you wanted?
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    With your new information, I think you have a firewall issue on those two systems. The fact that they can access out, but you can't access either of them seems to suggest that. The IPCONFIG looks fine, FWIW. I do find the 10 year IP address lease curious...

    Can you PING either of the machines from other machines?
     
  13. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    No I cannot ping the 2 computers that no one can get to.

    Michael
     
  14. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You need to find out what firewall component is blocking the PING requests, and either configure it properly for file sharing or disable it.
     
  15. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    That did it! I did not realize with the McAffee security it had a firewall program included. So I was unable to get through.

    I would mark this thread as solved if I knew how!!

    Thank You,
    Michael
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/543836

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice