1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: 2GB ram. Windows says 1mb???? WTF

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Blink182, Jul 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Blink182

    Blink182 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    602
    Hi there.

    Windows says the following:

    System: Microsoft Windows XP Professional Version 2002 Service Pack 2
    Registered to: <wont post that>
    Manufactured and Supported by: NEC

    NEC Computers International. Versa Series Computer. Intel Pentium M Processor 1.80GHz.
    1MB of RAM. <--WTF

    I have 2GIG of RAM :mad: :eek: (n) With Windows...


    WHY???? :confused: :confused:
     
  2. moozer

    moozer

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    665
    Hi Blink182

    Have you recently installed the RAM? or moved it? I had this a while back and it happened to be an incorrectly seated stick.

    Andy
     
  3. Blink182

    Blink182 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    602
    nah. Just realised when i decided to open sys properties. RAM came 2MB with the computer.
     
  4. Blink182

    Blink182 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    602
  5. pshnfry

    pshnfry

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Messages:
    338
    Does any part of the pc recognise 2gig? (your statement "I have 2GIG of RAM With Windows..." is a little confusing.

    If it came with the ram is the pc still under warranty? Is it a laptop or a desktop and can you check what is installed?
     
  6. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    I want to see a screen shot of this.
     
  7. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,610
    couple things. First, when you repeatedly refer to 2mb ram, it's a bit confusing. Second, do you have a system monitor such as everest? If not, type dxdiag in the start > run box, and on the system tab, report what it states under memory back here.

    v
     
  8. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Obviously your machine is using more than 1MB of RAM! It's been asked several times, but you need to check elsewhere. I would start in BIOS or what does it say when you boot up?
     
  9. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,610
    still think he means 1 gb.....
     
  10. Rumpo-Stiltskin

    Rumpo-Stiltskin

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    958
    You're probably right.......

    Post #3:
    Sounds like it's an NEC laptop.


    Blink182:

    Unless you want to give a lot more (or any) information about the computer and the problem - perhaps some screenshots etc. - I don't see how you can reasonably expect any useful assistance. ;)
     
  11. Blink182

    Blink182 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    602
    Look whats happening here is that i have a laptop (NEC). I have 2GB of ram. Windows shows only 1MB. I dont mean 1GB, i mean 1MB! BIOS Shows 2GB, and that dxdiag thing also shows 2GB. But sysdm.cpl (puter properties) only shows 1MB
     
  12. silvershield

    silvershield

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    469
    Well oviously youre using more than 1MB of ram, so theres really no problem...probably just a software bug... Maybe downloading some sort of diagnostic software to test your memory just in case...
     
  13. Blink182

    Blink182 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    602
    ahh already did. But now windows shows correct amount? Turns out it was a corrupted profile.:confused: :mad: Thanks for the help guys.
     
  14. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,610
    cool.....you can mark this as solved in teh upper right had corner under thread tools.

    v
     
  15. Blink182

    Blink182 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    602
    I know that lol.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/482818

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice