1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: 2nd Hard Drive appears "not formatted" on 2nd XP boot

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ben wren, Oct 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ben wren

    ben wren Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Hi,

    I have a problem with my second (media) hard drive - here it is:

    I have a dual boot Windows XP system, i.e. both boots run Windows XP. The first is for everyday stuff, e.g. internet and downloaded software. The second is for work, and has been kept simple to be more stable in running audio programs (e.g. internet is disabled). My two boots are set up on different partitions of my main system drive.

    I also have a 300GB internal drive for media. On the first boot (the everyday one) this drive works - it appears in windows explorer and you can access it and everything on it. However, on the second boot (the work one) I have a problem - the same drive appears in windows explorer but when I double click to access it, it says the drive is not formatted (and asks if i would like to format it now).

    Obviously the drive is formatted, and I have no troubles with it on my first boot, and of course I would like it to work on my second boot as well. What can i do to get the second boot to recognise the content of the drive (ideally without starting again and having to reformat the drive - is this possible)? Is there some reason why I wouldn't be able to have it work on both boots? (I can't see why it wouldn't be possible... I can access both partitions of my system drive from both boots...)

    Can anyone help?!
    Thanks!

    Ben
     
  2. oldduffo

    oldduffo

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Hey folks....I'm new here so forgive me for barging in, but I printed out 3 pages of instructions and can't find where it says "NEW" anywhere. :)But my real problem is this:I've read tons of answers here and other places and no one seems to address the problem I have. I have win98 on one HD and XP pro on another...both 80gig. Every time I read an answer to 2 separate HDs, the conversation ends up 2 OSs on the same HD and how to partition and stuff, never sticking to the 2 separate HD senerio. Can some one tell me how I can dual boot these 2 HDs, please? I know how to partition 1 HD, Install win98 first and all that, but can't figure out how to do the 2 hard drive boot thingy. I've done the 1 HD thing, but I want to use the 2 (of several)HDs laying around. Sorry this is so long and probably in the wrong forum, but please forgive me as I said , I'm new to these things. God Bless
     
  3. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    Is this drive detected as the same drive in Device Manager on both boots.?
    I'm wondering if this is a drive letter problem.
    Your setup seems very weird to me. You could accomplish the same thing with a hardware profile-i.e., disable the network adapter.
    Oldduffo, you should start a new thread for this problem,
    See here:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/306559
    "New" is at the top left, above the first thread.
     
  4. oldduffo

    oldduffo

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Hello again. Hughv suggested I start a new thread on my problem. I hope this is where to do that, because as I said before, I cannot find ANYWHERE the words "New" as per the 3 page info. I printed out for this forum..:confused:
    Like so many before him, Hughv linked me to Microsoft which deals with 2 OS on the sameHD. (n) I gues I haven't made myself clear.:eek: I have 2 SEPARATE HDs.....Win 98 on one, and XP pro on the other. I loaded them, one at a time with the jumpers set at "CS", then I connected the 2 HDs on the same IDE cable. Win98 jumpered as the Master and XP as the Slave. I fail to see what's so "strange" (as Hughv mentioned) about that set up? Now what I need to know is how to dual boot them....like after the POST runs, how do I get the option to choose which OS to access. Both HDs are recognized during POST... Both are set at "Auto" in BIOS, but the XP HD isn't detected as "D" drive in My Computer...My first CD player is still "D". I guess my problem is, I don't know where the MBR is or how to access it. I hope that is a clear description of what I am asking.:(
     
  5. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    Admittedly, this is a lengthy article, but the key is here:
    "You may need to reformat and repartition your hard disk if:
    • You have only one volume.

    You have to install each operating system on a separate volume of your computer so that each installation can retain its own files and configuration information."
    Installing on a separate volume is the same whether you have a partition or a second disk.
    Why did you "load them one at a time"?
    Start over, treating the disks as separate entities, with the 98 disk formatted Take your time.FAT32.
    I don't know what to tell you about starting a new thread. The word "New" is clearly shown at the top of the thread list. Perhaps you should use Edit/Find to locate it.
    Your comment about "strange" is a good example of why you need a new thread. That comment is directed at the OP, not you.
    When you have set the dual boot properly, you'll get a menu at boot which allows you to choose an OS.
     
  6. ben wren

    ben wren Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Hi Hughv, thanks for replying!

    Well it seems to be the same in the Device Manager (but i'm not sure what you mean - same in what respect?)

    However, you may be right about it being a Drive Letter problem. On my first boot (the one where the drive works properly) it comes up as drive [L] (which is what i told it to be when i originally set it up.
    But on the Second boot, it comes up as drive [G].
    So if it is a drive letter problem, do you know what i can do to fix this?


    (As for the reason behind my setup - some of it is hardware based, and i looked into hardware profiles, but it's also that a lot of stuff gets installed into my first boot that slows it down, both deliberately installed software, and inadvertently installed software. Having a completely separate OS means it just completely clean for when i need to edit audio, and therefore quicker and more stable.)

    Thanks very much again!
    Ben
     
  7. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
  8. ben wren

    ben wren Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    No, the drive doesn't work when i click on G. That's when it says
    "The disk in drive G is not formatted. Do you want to format it now?". It only works on the other boot, where it's called L.

    Do you think all i need to do is change it to L on the second boot?
     
  9. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    No. I think it's not the same drive.
    Rt-click it and get the properties to see what hardware it is.
     
  10. ben wren

    ben wren Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Hi Hughv -

    Thanks for your help - i've solved it!

    It is the same drive, i had checked that, but when you pointed me to checking the drive letter, i noticed in disk management it was only showing 128Gb when it's actually 320Gb. That reminded me, that i needed to use a
    'Big Drive Enabler' to change the registry to use my drive on XP with Service Pack 1. Which i then realised was one of the main differences between my boots - ProTools 6.4 which i use, doesn't work well with SP2. I had problems when i tried that before. So, my ProTools boot is supposed to be SP1. Anyway, i checked this, and in fact, it was not showing SP1 at all. I was sure originally i'd set it up as SP1, but i guess not. So i installed SP1 and there it was! Didn't even need to use the big drive enabler again!

    Anyway, it's thanks to you pointing me in the right direction that i realised the problem. I hadn't even thought about the Disk Management area... what a numpty. Anyway, weird problem, but i had struggled to fix it for ages until today!

    Thanks very much Hughv!
     
  11. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    Well done. Sometimes it's just a matter of starting with the basics and going from there.
    You can mark this "Solved" using the thread tools.
     
  12. oldduffo

    oldduffo

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Hello again Hughv,
    You asked "Why did you "load them one at a time"?"
    Because I read too many answers by folks who evidently aren't as savy as you. (compliment ....not sarcasum). If I ever find that "new", I will do as you suggested...sorry to profane this thread.
     
  13. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    Maybe this Will help (Attachment)
     

    Attached Files:

    • here.jpg
      here.jpg
      File size:
      140.6 KB
      Views:
      288
  14. oldduffo

    oldduffo

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    EUREKA !!!!!! ZOUNDS AND GAD ZOOKS, even! I finally found the "Boom,Boom" thing. (an old song lyric)....also, I had a long talk with my local guru last night, and he straighted me out on a few things; the most important, the volumes thing. I thought volume meant partitions on the same disk, only. He also put me on to Microsofts Virtual Machine....said it's real simple to work with. Right..... for him (and you) perhaps. Once I get my present situation under control, I may give it a try......but then, I been know to screw up a screwing....if you get my drift. Thanks for humoring me. If need be, I will start a new thread....now that I found the elusive "New".:eek:
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/755387

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice