Solved: 32bit IE9 wouldn't load

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jetsguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
281
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
Processor: Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5800 @ 3.20GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 10
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 3036 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) G45/G43 Express Chipset, 1294 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 466780 MB, Free - 427440 MB;
Motherboard: Dell Inc., 018D1Y
Antivirus:pC Cleaners,Updated:Yes, On-Demand Scanner:Disabled

OK, here's the thing I have Win7 64bit(includes 32bit) the 32bit was working just fine till a couple of days ago now it justs refuses to load(the 64 bit works fine) any suggestions would be appreciated.Thanks
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

When you click on the Internet Explorer, are there any error messages that appear, or does it just refuse to open?

eddie
 

davehc

David
Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2006
Messages
2,059
What happens if you try to initiate it from Program files (X86) - Internet Explorer _ iexplore.exe?
 

jetsguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
281
Didn't work Eddie,the behavior is similar to the problem I had with Governor of Poker,the files are there but nothing is happening.I'll click on to the icon it tries to load but nothing happens.But with 64bit there is no problem,I'll hit the icon and it loads.(Here is the answer to what Davehc asked)
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Okay, as this may/may not be related, maybe running an sfc scan may help :)


Okay, lets try this:

Go to start | Run and type this in:

cmd

And press Enter

Now, in the box that pops up, type the following. Note the space before the /:


sfc /scannow

And press Enter.

This will scan your system for any corrupted files, and may replace them. If Windows was preinstalled, it should be able to locate the originals in the cab files.

If not, you're looking for the Windows XP disk, that should have the product ID number on it. Don't type the number here, its just so you know which one to look for ;)

It may take a while, so grab a cuppa :)

Let me know if there are any problems/questions.

eddie
 

jetsguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
281
Ran scan as you suggested,no problems.Don't have XP disk.Should I change browsers if so,I would still like to know why 32bit stopped launching.Thanks
Jetsguy
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Try this first:


  • Quit all programs that are running.
  • Click Start, and then click Run.
  • Type regsvr32 urlmon.dll, and then click OK.
    When you receive the "DllRegisterServer in urlmon.dll succeeded" message, click OK.

If this does not resolve the problem, repeat steps 2 through 4 for each of the following files (in step 3, replace Urlmon.dll with each of the file names below):

  • Shdocvw.dll
  • Actxprxy.dll
  • Oleaut32.dll
  • Mshtml.dll
  • Browseui.dll
  • Shell32.dll

eddie
 

jetsguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
281
In order as instructed first one did not load.Second part Shdocvw.dll=failed to load
Actxprxy.dll=failed to load
Oleaut32.dll=failed to load
Mshtml.dll=was loaded but entry DLL
didn't register.Server was not found.
Browseui.dll=Same as Mshtml.dll
Shell32.dll=Same as Mshtml.dll
 

jetsguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
281
Reran test,this time came back with Regsvr32 urlmon.dll=succeeded but still didn't load.Went to next steps,first two failed to load,Mshtml.dll was loaded but entry DLL didn't register.Server was not found.Same deal with Browseui.dll didn't register,etc.Last one Shell32.dll succeeded but it still didn't load(IE9 32bit)
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
I forgot that you're on Windows 7, so can you try this for me instead:


Go to Start | Run and type:

regsvr32 "C:\Windows\System32\Shdocvw.dll"

And press Enter.

Do the same for these:

C:\Windows\System32\urlmon.dll
C:\Windows\System32\Actxprxy.dll
C:\Windows\System32\Oleaut32.dll
C:\Windows\System32\Mshtml.dll
C:\Windows\System32\Browseui.dll
C:\Windows\System32\Shell32.dll

eddie
 

jetsguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
281
Regsvr32 C:\Windows\System32\Shdovw.dll=module was loaded but entry point DLLRegisterServer was not found. As for the rest they loaded but would not open.

Jetsguy
 

jetsguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
281
ok,here's the deal went to Internet Explorer FAQ,downloaded repair IE8(IE7) and IE9,32on64 zip.It worked, IE9 32 bit now works.Thanks for your help Eddie.

Jetsguy
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top