1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: 5:1 surround sound query

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ProHermit, Jul 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ProHermit

    ProHermit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Does anyone know if I can play 5:1 surround sound on my PC.?

    I bought my PC in 2002 and it came with only 2 speakers that plug into one jack plug but I'm sure when I bought it that it was capable of 5:1 surround sound. Is there any way I can find out if my PC can deliver surround sound. What do I need or is there an easier way to find out.?

    Also, as I've not bought the surround sound yet, does it involve just one JACK PLUG into the computer.?

    kind regards
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    You need three jacks for 5.1 audio, but on some PC's you can reassign the Line-in and MIC jacks for the Center/Sub and Rear speakers.

    What computer or motherboard or sound card do you have?
     
  3. ProHermit

    ProHermit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    I have those extra jack sockets, ie, Line in and MIC, etc, but no dedicated surround sound as far as I know.

    My PC is a ''TIME'' AMD Athlon XP 2700, MMX 3DNow 2.2Ghz......if that helps.

    I typed in DXDIAG into START and RUN and under the sound tab it says NVIDIA (R) nForce audio. Again, does that help.?

    much appreciation for your help
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    The original Nforce chipset didn't support beyond two channel sound but all the latter versions did.

    Download SIW: http://www.gtopala.com/siw-download.html

    Once downloaded run it and click on Hardware and then Motherboard. Post what it shows as the Model.
     
  5. ProHermit

    ProHermit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Is this correct.?

    Model MS-6777

    Apologies if I can't this minute reply but it's time for bed and work tomorrow, so will try and get back first thing in the morning for any help or info.
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
  7. ProHermit

    ProHermit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Triple6 you are a star.
    I can't thank you enough.
    May you have the most pleasant future for taking your time to help me and posting that link that seriously helps me out.

    I salute you sir, excellent stuff.

    many kind regards to you

    prohermit
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved surround sound
  1. winpc
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,079
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/597448

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice