Solved: 60 minute Internet Connection

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

tds42

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 7, 2007
Messages
16
Please bear with me, first post....
After relatively trouble free service, suddenly my "Charter High Speed" Broadband cable internet connection has developed a 1 hour connection limit, which is indicated by the "lease Obtained" and "lease expires" parameters on the "Network Connection Details" enclosed below.
After 60 minutes it loses contact until I perform a normal restart of the computer and power down restart the modem.
Error message displays "limited or no connectivity".
(At the time the connection is lost, the modem lights are still flashing normally.)
Tried connecting another computer and it also showed a limit on the connection of 60 minutes.
Charter Service (Philippines) says that it is a Computer Manufacturer System problem and abruptly cuts off the phone connection.
Unfortunately, they are the only broadband service available, for now, in my area. So I have to contend with their shoddy customer service.
I cannot recall any functions performed that may have caused this but even tried a "System Restore" back to several days ago without any luck.
It is a standard wired connection no networking, no router, etc.
My question is: Where is the source of the "lease" parameters setting?
Does the I.P. set them or does it come from the computer settings somewhere.
Until two days ago, it was a 24/7 connection and,obviously, I would like to return it to that status.
Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : your-4dacd0ea75
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
ernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-EC-89-18-7C
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 75.139.220.96
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.252.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 75.139.220.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.186.73.99
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.116.46.115
68.185.34.67
68.116.46.70
68.185.32.10
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, July 09, 2007 1:02:05 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, July 09, 2007 2:02:05 PM

C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator>
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2007
Messages
21
The "lease exp./obtained" secont on your ipconfig/all section is because cable internet companies update IP addresses constantly. There may be a problem with your browers ability to change with the new ip. all i know is that the changing ip is not the source of your problem, that is normal with cable internet.

Check to make sure your computers Ip settings in the interenet options arent set to static. All cable interent connections have to be set to dinamic settings in order to not disconnect every time the ip changes. All of my settings are on either DNS or DHCP. Choose those if they are options.
 

tds42

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 7, 2007
Messages
16
Thanks...adds a new slant to the problem!
I have seen 8 or 12 hour "lease" times on other connections, so assumed
this was a problem source.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,403
Regardless of the lease time (which is determined by the ISP) the lease normally gets renewed half way through.

But you are losing connection at precisely 60 minutes, the lease period? Have you checked after more than 1/2 hour and the lease has not been renewed?

Check that the following services are running and their Startup Type is 'Automatic' (Control Panel - Administrative Tools - Services):

DHCP Client
DNS Client

If they look OK after a restart, check them again every 10 or 15 minutes to see if they are getting turned off for some reason.

You might also try SAFE mode with networking to see if the same problem occurs (not much fun when you have to wait an hour to test!).
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
DHCP clients automatically renew the lease when 1/2 of the time has expired. With a working DHCP client, (your computer), any lease time will work. When testing a DHCP server I was writing for an embedded system, I had the DHCP server lease time set at one minute, the system worked fine.

Let's try this to start, it may help:

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

For these commands, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
 

tds42

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 7, 2007
Messages
16
So far so good...
Result below, I got 8 hours on it now , that's a change, hopefully indicates a fix.
Will know in about 4 hours.
thank you much!

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : your-4dacd0ea75
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
ernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-EC-89-18-7C
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 75.139.223.27
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.252.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 75.139.220.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.186.73.99
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.116.46.115
68.185.34.67
68.116.46.70
68.185.32.10
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, July 09, 2007 2:27:26 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, July 09, 2007 10:27:26 PM

C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,403
Interesting that the lease period has changed. Did you start a service or do the TCP/IP stack repair?
 

tds42

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 7, 2007
Messages
16
Both. After the stack repair, a restart is required, so I restarted the Service also.
Incidently, the lease timer has not changed yet.(4:35)
From what has been said regarding timer updates, it will automatically update in
about 2 more hours. (And I will be there waiting!!!!)
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,403
Did you change the Startup type of the service(s) to 'Automatic'? Is it or them still running?
 

tds42

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 7, 2007
Messages
16
The parameters in Administrative tools were all in proper order.
The stack repair seemed to have produced any results achieved.
 

tds42

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 7, 2007
Messages
16
An additional concern on my part would be the original cause of the problem that
produced the need for a stack reset and what to watch for in the future.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
To be honest, there are so many different reasons those registry entries get scrambled, you'll likely never know. The important thing is that you can recover. :)
 

tds42

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 7, 2007
Messages
16
The assumption that "a good result is the same as a solution" was obviously incorrect.
Assigning SOLVED to the thread was premature.
My lease timer problem still remains.
Have done much further investigation from many sources, lots of forum reading and
some suggested tweeks on my system, I find myself back seeking any further help and suggestions
that you folks may have.
The glitch is still simply that the initial lease period that appears when an internet connection is established never updates and just expires .
Reviewing, steps that have been done:
Network Settings check.(All as per instructed)
Administrator/ System settings check: (system, dns client, dhcp client, status Auto/started.)
Reset winsock entries and tcp/ip stack, reboot.
TCP/IP advanced settings, disable TCP/IP filtering, checked Permit all....(But the setting will not stay unchecked)
As per Microsoft tech forum...I ,nervously performed the ip/config commands; /release, /flushdns, /registerdns, /renew.
After which, did a power down restart of the Modem and Computer that obtained a new 12 hour lease,
instead of the usual 60 minutes. This also proceded to expire at the end of the 12 hours.

Which all leaves me back on square one asking for more Help...Please.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,403
I've never heard of it happening, but I suppose a firewall could get over zealous and block a lease update. You could uninstall Comodo Firewall Pro and use Windows XP SP2 firewall for a session.

You could try SAFE mode with networking to see whether the problem is within critical Windows components vs. in some application.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top