1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: 7600gs help!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by RoBe, Apr 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RoBe

    RoBe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    175
    i've had a 7600gs for about a month now and everything's been fine, just recently though the screen seems really dark at times. Like when i was playing half life 2, some of the bits are just jet black and i can't see anything when i could see them when i first got the card. It's the same thing when i try and play a video, they're too dark to be watched but i can solve this by changing any setting in nVidia control panel and then applying it and everything goes back to normal until i try to play another video, it reverts back to dark again and i have to reapply a setting.
    Just after i log in aswell, the screen appears normal for about a second or too and then becomes darker.

    Is it the card? or some setting i've missed?

    here's a pic of what i mean
    BAD:
    [​IMG]

    GOOD:
    [​IMG]
     
  2. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    If you go to Control Panel do you have an Icon called Adobe Gamma?
     
  3. RoBe

    RoBe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    175
    yeah, i do
     
  4. jwinathome

    jwinathome

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    319
    Adobe Gamma and Third - Party Monitor Calibration Utilities

    If you already have a monitor calibration utility installed, and it can create ICC profiles, you should either disable the other utility or prevent Adobe Gamma from applying its settings at the system level when Windows starts. This step prevents the two from conflicting and causing an inaccurate display. To disable a third-party calibration utility, refer to the documentation included with it.

    To prevent Adobe Gamma from loading its settings at startup , remove Adobe Gamma Loader:

    -- Windows XP and 2000:

    1. Double-click My Computer.

    2. Navigate to Documents and Settings/All Users/Start Menu/Programs/Startup.

    3. Select Adobe Gamma Loader, and drag it onto the desktop.

    (Taken from Adobe's site....don't know why they say drag it to the desktop...just delete it. I guess if you will use it though, drag it to the dtop.)
     
  5. RoBe

    RoBe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    175
    i dont have the adobe gamma icon in startup

    and it's still showing up videos dark
     
  6. jwinathome

    jwinathome

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    319
    What about under MSCONFIG?

    (Start > Run > Type MSCONFIG > Tab to "Startup" and see if Adobe Gamma is listed.)

    It could be located in the RUN registry key.
     
  7. RoBe

    RoBe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    175
    it's listed, but unchecked
     
  8. jwinathome

    jwinathome

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    319
    What about system restore to before this change started to happen?

    Also, you may try deleting the video card in Device Manager, reboot and then reinstall the drivers once Windows starts the New Hardware Wizard.
     
  9. RoBe

    RoBe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    175
    okay, i'll try a system restore
     
  10. RoBe

    RoBe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    175
    yep, the system restore seems to have worked

    thanks for your help!
     
  11. jwinathome

    jwinathome

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    319
    Great. Let us know if it changes again, and what may have caused it.
     
  12. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Good to hear..
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/557332

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice