1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: 9600xt AIW will not boot-up

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dallasrat, Feb 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dallasrat

dallasrat Thread Starter

Hello All,

Noob here. This will be my first graphics card upgrade and wouldn't you know, it is not as easy as the instructions say!

My system:
    Dell Dimension 4550
    nVidia GeForce mx420 (original) AGP
    9600xt AIW (replacement, I hope!) AGP

As per the instructions and online, I removed the nVidia drivers using the Add/Remove Hardware option, as well as also used the DriverCleaner to make sure to get 'em all.

The first thing that I noticed when I put in the new 9600xt was that the for a second, the WinXP "boot screen" was ok, then it went one of blue vertical lines (think "The Matrix" only in blue) and the Windows logo and XP name were blurred and shadowed. I assumed that this was because of the new drivers were not yet installed. The very first attempt showed the desktop with the larger icons, etc as could be expected, but then within only a few minutes, an error came up:"VPU Recover has reset your graphics accelerator as it was no longer responding to graphics driver commands. Please tell ATI about this." I did send the report, but who knows if it will do any good for the near future.

All of the subsequent attempts have done the same "Matrix" boot screen into only blackness. The green power light is on, the ATI card's fan is spinning and all seems to work fine, without display. When checking the monitor settings when this occurs, it shows anywhere between 59.8kHz to 60.0kHz for Horizontal and 72.4Hz to 74.9Hz for Vertical at the default screen resolution of 1024x768.