Solved: A good remote administration program

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

foler59

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
45
I am searching for a remote administration program that I could install on a pc and then be able to connect to it through the internet, transfer files, execute stuff and such. I have been using netcat, but I think it lacks some of the features that I need (although I'm not even minimally familiar with it). For example, I want the program to report the host's ip address to me every time it starts by some way (like connecting to an irc server, or just send me a file in some way). I also need to be able to transfer files, see hard drives or cd roms and generally have administrative access. Third, I need the program not to be entirely visible, for example hide its tray icon, or hide from the processes tab, the more the better (netcat does have some of these features), but that's of less importance.

Sorry for not searching too much, but if you happen to know one such program that you've used, you'll save me the time from searching.
 

zx10guy

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
6,647
I haven't looked at the other programs, but I would recommend against VNC unless it's used within a secure tunnel. VNC is horribly insecure and has many documented exploits. I use VNC but only via a VPN tunnel.

Your starting point in my opinion is to look at the suggestion of Logmein or Hammachi if you want to do secure remote connections on the cheap. Me personally, I want my own hardware solution which means a hardware VPN end point.
 

foler59

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
45
I've used tight VNC and it wasn't too stealth..
Ah, forgot to add that it has to be freeware :)

EDIT: I just tried RealVNC and I have one comment to make: I don't really need such fancy programs that can show me the desktop and let me handly the mouse and everything remotely. I just want to be able to do what I want on the PC (I don't want anything to be "echo'ed" locally) and be able to do it in a stealthy manner.

EDIT2: I just tried radmin its features are good though it's not hidden (tray icon) and it's also a little bit bloated, but I can also do stuff without being visible on the remote PC. The problem is that it frequently hangs on some operations.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Why the emphasis on hiding the remote access program?
 

foler59

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
45
Well one of them being that anybody could shut down the server program and then access will be denied. And I'm just experimenting with stuff on my own PCs (I will be installing the software anyway), it's not really a big emphasis, but since I can probably get all that in one program why not get the best?

So can you suggest a program that will do that (except netcat)? I will be giving a try to the others now, and I've re tried netcat, and the only problem I have with it is that I can't send files (and I don't see any such feature in the readme)
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
I use UltraVNC myself. You can hide the tray icon, but it still shows up in Task Manager. Of course, I don't worry about them shutting it down, since they don't get help if they turn off the capability. :)
 

Squashman

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 4, 2003
Messages
19,786
Even if they stop the service, you could use PStools to restart it remotely.
 

foler59

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
45
I just checked PStools, they look really useful, and in fact you could perform pretty much any operation with those tools alone without having to install client software! How does that work?

If there is no need for client software installation, why you choose all those heavy vnc programs to work with?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Because PStools can't allow you to see the GUI or operate all of the Windows functions. It's useful, but it doesn't serve the same function.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top