Solved: A network cable is unplugged (different)

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

augustoch

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
15
Hi, I have read a lot on this problem, but still have it.

I have got an old Compaq Presario S5000NX. The original users, never used the ethernet network card (just as a standalone PC). I have reinstalled Windows XP Professional, and the corresponding drivers from the site; also, the latest BIOS. Everything looks in good condition in the Device Manager.

The Local Area Network Connection icon says "A network cable is unplugged" with the (working) ethernet cable connected. I changed all the options in the configuration and checked that everything is OK in the BIOS. Also, tried with another working ethernet PCI card, and the problem is still there.

Some suggestions? Thanks,

Augusto
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2000
Messages
9,262
Need clarification:
with the (working) ethernet cable connected
Does this mean the network connection is working but is falsely indicating that the card is disconnected?

Check Device Manager. Does it indicate more than one network device?
 

augustoch

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
15
Thank you for your reply.

I have checked the connection using the onboard ethernet adapter and the additional PCI ethernet adapter with Ubuntu; and have no communication at all.

Augusto
 

augustoch

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
15
Need clarification:Does this mean the network connection is working but is falsely indicating that the card is disconnected?

Check Device Manager. Does it indicate more than one network device?
No, there is only one network device in the Device Manager. It is recognized as a "good" network card; the same is for the PCI adapter (when installed in the slot).
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
109
Just to make sure: you assume the cable is working because you've plugged it to another ethernet port and it worked?
 

augustoch

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
15
Just to make sure: you assume the cable is working because you've plugged it to another ethernet port and it worked?
Yes, I connect the same ethernet cable to a different PC, and the Internet comes up instantly.

And, when I install another ethernet adapter, it gets the same message (a different port).
 

augustoch

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
15
Sorry guys, you won't believe this! I have changed 3 different network cards, and the 3rd one worked.

So, the problem was that the onboard ethernet adapter and the next 2 PCI network cards were defective.

Now, I can work normally. Again, sorry (it is the first time I've got 2 net cards failing).
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top