1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: A Question About NIC Settings

Discussion in 'Networking' started by flavallee, Mar 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,648
    These are the current advanced settings for the NVIDIA nForce 10/100 Mbps Ethernet Adapter in my Vista SP1 desktop:

    Crossover Detection - Disable

    Flow Control - Disabled

    Interrupt Moderation - Enabled

    Low Power State Link Speed - Enabled

    Network Address - Not Present

    Priority & VLAN - Priority Enabled

    Reset PHY If Not In Use - Disable

    Speed/Duplex Settings - 100 MB Full Duplex

    VLAN Id - 1

    WakeOnLAN From PowerOff - Disabled


    I'm using high-speed cable(2 Mbps up/20 Mbps down) and have 3 desktops sharing the connection via a Linksys BEFSR41 wired router. My speeds are fine.

    Im just curious if any of the settings should be changed.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Leave them at their defaults unless you have a specific reason to change them. Most of those settings have nothing to do with a standard environment and should be left alone.
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,648
    Thanks, John. Will do. (y)
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    I'm sure we'll hear back if I'm wrong. :D
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,648
    The advanced settings for the Intel PRO/100 VE 10/100 Ethernet Adapter in my other 2 desktops are so different than they are for the NVIDIA nForce 10/100 Ethernet Adapter. I was just curious if any of them needed to be changed.

    Again, thanks for your advice. Like I already said, my upload/download speeds are fine.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Every network driver seems to have it's own set of configuration variables, and I've also noticed that many are totally different, I guess it's the nature of the beast. :)
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,648
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/812247