1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: A Router Default Configuration Address?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Dalton7821, Nov 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dalton7821

    Dalton7821 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    215
    I had a couple of guests over and they were having problems getting online (actually they were on for a day but one laptop dropped) the problem was with the guest laptop itself. While troubleshooting we opened the router as an access point. It gave us a new address for configuration but did not get it all down. It is a Belkin Wireless G router and the previous config address was 192.168.2.1 the new one was 192.168. then 2 0r 1 follwoed by three number sequence I believe starting with 2 (I tried 245 and 254). When I right click on my wireless connection icon and go to properties none of the address work some now start with 70. Is the a way to find the address and if not how do I reset my router?
     
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,783
    Read the router config manaul. It will tell you how to do a reset of the router config. There is usually a small button on the outside of the router.

    The IP address of the router is usually the default gateway of your IP configuration.

    Open up a CMD prompt and type: ipconfig /all
     
  3. Dalton7821

    Dalton7821 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    215
    I reset it. Everything seems to work fine thanks.
     
  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,243
    First Name:
    James
    If one of your machines can access the internet with the new configuration, you can do a trace route to get the gateway ip address (your router)

    To do a trace route, go to a command prompt (Start > Run > type cmd) and then type the command tracert www.google.com (or tracert 64.233.187.104 if DNS is not working). Your output will look like this: (note that google has many servers, so the IP address and name may differ)

    Tracing route to www.l.google.com [64.233.187.104]

    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 10.180.52.1
    2 12 ms 11 ms 12 ms static-67-62-65-1.dsl.cavtel.net [67.62.65.1]
    3 10 ms 11 ms 11 ms eth5-0-0-100m.core-02.rich.va.cavtel.net [64.83.47.73]
    <snip>
    12 32 ms 43 ms 31 ms 72.14.236.15
    13 32 ms 35 ms 33 ms 216.239.49.226
    14 32 ms 32 ms 32 ms 64.233.187.104

    Trace complete.


    The first one should be the IP address of your router.
     
  5. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,243
    First Name:
    James
    wow, too slow typing :)
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/514794

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice