1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: A silly outlook express e-mail question?

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by swaneyjoe, Oct 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. swaneyjoe

swaneyjoe Thread Starter

Hi Anyone whom may have the answer!

I have been using Outlook Express for quite a few years. When wanting to create an e-mail, I have usually hit the new mail button. My ready to edit e-mail opens. I then click on address book to open it, then scroll thru the list and select the one to enter it the To box. It enters, then I proceed to type the message,etc.

I recetly acquired a new puter with WIn XP with also the latest version of outlook experss. Upon opening my mail to send and edit a mail, I noticed that just below the inbox,outbox,sent items, etc on the left collumn that there is already an address book showiing all my entries, etc. And in order to select a recipent, all I had to do was double click on the person, and new e-mail would open with the To already filled in with the intended recepient entered. I thought , How Cool! It saves a few moves from using the previous method of clicking on the intended recepient, then clicking the OK button to enter the recipent in the to Box.

Well! The other day I probably clicked on something I shouldn't have, and that new to me, handy feature had disappeared. Now, I have to use the old method of entering a recepient into e-mails. Can anyone tell me how to get that handy feature back?? I have searched thru express Help and also XP help and am not finding anything referring to that Feature, that has disappeared.
    Any Help would be appreciated!
    Thanks all!
    Swaney Joe..

2. stantley

stantley

Go to View > Layout, put a check in the 'Contacts' box.

3. swaneyjoe