Solved: access 2003 can't create report or form from wizard

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

r access

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
7
please help!
i installed office pro 2003 (windows xp)
and i cant create a new report (it start one, but wont save it)
if i try to create a form with the wizard, it wont save it .

what is worng??
 

OBP

Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
19,895
Can you create and save a Form manually using the "Create Form in Design View"?
 

jimr381

Jim
Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Messages
4,193
Welcome to the forum. Are you sure no one else is in the Access database at the same time? If you are sure please try rebooting and see if you can edit it then. It sounds like the database is locked for editing.
 

r access

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
7
No. I am the only user.
I rebooted the computer many times. and still... (I even installed office once again and that didn't help.)
 

OBP

Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
19,895
Is it just the one database or many databases?
Can you post a zipped copy of it on here to see if we can do it?
 

r access

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
7
The wizard itself works till the end.
just instead of showing me a report: it gives me an error.
the wizard of the form works and showes a form, but when i try to save it , it just dosen't save.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
7,837
The wizard itself works till the end.
just instead of showing me a report: it gives me an error.
the wizard of the form works and shows a form, but when i try to save it , it just doesn't save.
You say it gives an error - is there actually an error message (besides the dumb one that it wants to send to Microsoft, if you get that)?

Does Access close, or do you just lose the report?

Can you import a report from somewhere else, open it in design view, alter it and save it?
 

r access

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
7
I formated the computer completely, then installed windows and office again. now everything seems to be ok.
thank you all for trying to help.
(I worked in access for many years. this was a first to me...)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top