1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Access 2003, Switchboard Troubleshooting

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Rgnbull, Sep 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Rgnbull

    Rgnbull Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Hi! I created a switchboard for my new database using the Switchboard Manager, however, when I view the form it says "There are no items for this switchboard page". I've created switchboards before, but this is the first time I've seen this error. Please help!
     
  2. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,840
    Normally I can help with Access, but I never use Access Switchboards. I always use a Simple "Unbound" Form with Command Buttons to make the actions happen.
    If you are not sure "Unbound" means that the form does not have a "data source" like a Table or Query. It starts off life as completely Blank.
     
  3. Rgnbull

    Rgnbull Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks for the info!
     
  4. draceplace

    draceplace

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,583
    I agree with OBP. The Access switchboard is clunky. You can use the Tools\Startup... to bring up your 'new form'
     
  5. MRdNk

    MRdNk

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    439
    Again, have to agree custom forms, better then Switchboard.

    However, if you want to use switchboard, do you have any items on the switchboard, or can you not even access the switchboard?
     
  6. Rgnbull

    Rgnbull Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks everyone for your advise! I created custom forms for the switchboard and it works beautifully!
     
  7. draceplace

    draceplace

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,583
    Good Move! that switch board moves underneath you when you don't want it to. And if you going to do maintenance on something do it on something you can fully control.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/753627

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice