1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Access 2007 Record Date When Field Updated

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Wayne0928, Mar 13, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Wayne0928

Wayne0928 Thread Starter

I've searched the forum and can't find the help I need...perhaps I'm not using the right keywords.

Anyway, I want to automatically have a time stamp entered in a field named "CancelDate" if a yes/no field named "Cancel?" is checked. On the form I use an action button for that field.

I'm new with VBA, but after some research I entered this code in the AfterUpdate line in Properties:

Private Sub CancelDate_AfterUpdate()
    If Me.txtCancel?.value = 1 Then Me.txtCancelDate = Now()
    End If
    End Sub

...and it doesn't work. It seems to hang up because of the question mark. I get a Compile Error: Expected:Then or GoTo.

Can anyone help me?

2. OBP

OBP Trusted Advisor

Try
    If Me.[txtCancel?] = -1 Then Me.txtCancelDate = Now()

A yes in a check box field is -1 and unchecked when it has been checked is 0. You can also use Date() instead of now() as it will return the date rather than the date & time.

3. Wayne0928

Wayne0928 Thread Starter

Thanks, OBP. Although it still doesn't work. I'm obviously missing something. I tried to attach my test file but I got a security warning. I wrote admin about it. Any other ideas while I'm waiting for a reply from admin?

4. OBP

OBP Trusted Advisor

Well one thing that I notice is where the code is, is it in the CancelDate or Cancel field, I thought the Cancel field was the check box, which is where the code should be?
    Otherwise it is updating itself.
    What error do you get with my code?