1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Access 2010 Table Relationship Question

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by xiiro, Jan 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xiiro

xiiro Thread Starter

Hi,

I have a question about relating tables. I am very new to Access and databases in general, so please forgive me if this has an easy fix.

I regularly import data from an excel sheet, in order to populate my DB. That data is arranged to list service types under a category named "ItemName", but I would like to make a "Services" Table which associates each of those items to a "ServiceID".

example:
    Current table structure
    ID ItemName
    1 Cut
    2 Cut
    3 Massage
    4 Cut
    5 Manicure
    6 Facial
    7 Facial

Trying to relate the above data to a table like the one below. So when the above table says "Massage", Access knows the value of "Massage"="5" in "tblServices"

tblServices
    ID ServiceName
    1 Cut
    2 Color
    3 Shave
    4 Manicure
    5 Massage
    6 Wax
    7 Facial

I have tried making a Services table with a "ServiceID" and relating the "ServiceName" to the "ItemName" in the original table. I just can't seem to get Access to recognize that the items in the "ItemName" field of my original table, are the same as the "ServiceName" field in my Services Table. I did a lot of searching for "retroactive IDs" and "Many-to-one relationships", but google and youtube mostly return confusing results.

I would be forever appreciative to anyone who could shed light on this. I have been slowly chipping away at this DB for a week and a half and am starting to dream in database lol.

Thanks so much for taking the time to read my question.

=)

2. xiiro

xiiro Thread Starter

Never mind, I solved the issue.