1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Access 2010 Trouble with Multi-Value Look-up

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Dobber9, Dec 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dobber9

    Dobber9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    I have a query on the front-end of my database that is based on a table of suppliers that is stored in the back-end of the database. One of the fields in my table is Supplier Type. Each supplier can be more than one type (Electronics, Hardware, Plumbling,etc). I created a look-up field for it that allows multiple values to be entered for each record. The look-up field works fine on the back-end table, but when I try to select values in the front-end query, it doesn't let me. I can select the check boxes for each value, but when I go to click OK at the bottom of the list, it doesn't doesn't let me. It won't even store 1 value. Is this just a property of the multi-value look-up field or did I do something wrong?

    I'm running Access 2010 on Windows XP

    Thanks,
    Dobber9
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    You probably need to separate these out into unique tables. A suppliers table and a type table since each supplier can handle many different items.
     
  3. Dobber9

    Dobber9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    I wanted to avoid that, but it seems that's the only way it'll work.

    Thanks,
    Dobber9
     
  4. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    That is what is referred to as database normalization. It is the only way to make it work.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1032252

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice