Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Solved: Access Database

28K views 195 replies 4 participants last post by  OBP 
#1 ·
I am planning/trying to build a database that will track the dates certain classes were taken by users, and if the classes were passed or not.

I am very new at Access Databases so any advice, suggestions, opinions, or help anyone can offer will be greatly appreciated.

#6 ·
I have started to build the database. It is nothing big, but if it would help I will be more than happy to attach the file. If anything else, maybe someone could let me know if I am heading in the right direction.

#9 ·
A couple of things. If you are going to have the students take multiple tests then you will want to separate the students from the tests and link them together in a many-to-many relationship. Since some of those fields are repeated multiple times then you might want to setup lookup or drop-down lists that allow for easier selection and entry of data into those fields.

#11 ·
This is one of the reasons that I do not particularly like "Templates" as they hardly ever do what you actually want them to do.
This results in you spending more time trying to understand how to modify it than if you built it up from what you think/know you need, (with a little help from your friends on here of course). ;)

#12 ·
Hi Tony,

I tried to download a template to modify, but once I started and the template stopped working I realized I was just not knowledgeable enough to do so...LOL!

So, I started to try and build the database from scratch.

#13 ·
Hi, one of the things that you want to do is to write down what you want "Out" of the database, that should lead you to what you will need to put "In" it.
Then as Jim says it is a case of getting the right data in the right tables with the correct relationships.
After that it is a case of adding the "frills" like Combos etc.

#14 ·