Solved: Access Database

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

computerman29642

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 4, 2007
Messages
2,895
Is there a way in an access database to not display data that is older than the data that is being entered?

For example, I have a database that keeps track of when users become certified. I do not want to get rid of the old information, but I do not want to display the old data on the form.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
7,837
Need a bit more info on how the db is structured to help. Can you zip and post a dummy file with some fake data in it? (Unlike OBP, I can't just analyze the structure!!!) :)
 

OBP

Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
19,896
Sorry to tread on your toes Slurpee, but this can easily be achieved by using a Query to supply the form with it's data and use the Current Date as a Criteria Row Filter.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
7,837
LOL! Any correction from you OBP, is worth hearing!
However, computerman says "I have a database that keeps track of when users become certified. I do not want to get rid of the old information, but I do not want to display the old data" - but that wouldn't necessarily be today's date, would it?
That's why I wanted to see more clearly what he wants - just before today or the most recent date....
 

OBP

Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
19,896
Yes it would and you are right, I wrongly interpreted Old as meaning anything older than Current. :eek:
 

computerman29642

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 4, 2007
Messages
2,895
When I type the word Maximum in the criteria of the date field of the query, it places quotes around the word maximum. I then get a mismatch error.
 

OBP

Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
19,896
You do not do it using the Criteria, you use "Totals" and Grouping, for the Date you would enter Maximum instead of Group.
 

OBP

Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
19,896
You might want to use 2 queries, the first to limit the dates and the second, based on that query and the table to provide the rest of the data.
 

computerman29642

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 4, 2007
Messages
2,895
You might want to use 2 queries, the first to limit the dates and the second, based on that query and the table to provide the rest of the data.
I may have to do that. Now, when I open the form, I get "#Name?" in the date fields.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top