1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Access Database

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by JoeHart, Feb 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JoeHart

    JoeHart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Hi,
    Is their already tables set up to use with drop down boxes, that once you pick the Country the next set of drop down boxes will automatically have the states within that, and once you pick the state it will automatically have the cities in that state ect... Also is their something like this for the country's dial code.
    Thanks,
    Joe
     
  2. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,694
    I have something like what you want for the USA for Zip Codes, City and State.
    But it is a very large table so if you wanted to include other Countries it would become massive.
     
  3. JoeHart

    JoeHart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Is yours in Access. Where would I find something like that? I think that the one you are using would work well.
     
  4. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,694
    I can send you a copy of the Table and Query if you Private Mail me your email address.
     
  5. JoeHart

    JoeHart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    How do I do that?
     
  6. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,694
    Joe, it worked and I have emailed you the database.
     
  7. JoeHart

    JoeHart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Thanks,
    I will give this a try. I am very new to access, but you can't do everything in excel, although I wish I could. I am new to doing a double filter. I will let you know how it goes. Thanks again for the help.
    Joe
     
  8. JoeHart

    JoeHart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Wow, There is a lot of information in that database. How do I select the zip code and have the program automatically populate the State and City Values. I also noticed that when I add a new zip code it does not like the new zip code and will not add it to the new record until I add it to the other table. Is there a way around that?
    Thanks,
    Joe
     
  9. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,694
    Joe, have you created a Form to enter the Data in to the Zip?
     
  10. JoeHart

    JoeHart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    I am not sure. I have created a contact form. The contact's zip code is part of the form. If the zip code I use is not on the table you gave me I have to go into the table and add the zip code. using this zip code does not automatically select the city or state. I recently had a zip code that was used in two cities. I had to add the extension to the zip code so that I could add the city.
     
  11. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,694
    Joe, you can use VBA to enter a new Zip Code that is "Not in the List" of a combo box which makes it available, but at some stage you have to have a Zip code/City/State Form to enter the other data that goes with the zip.
    That is usually taken care of by using the Combo's Double Clicke event procedure, so if you double click the Combo it will open the Zip code/City/State Form so that you can make the entry without having to go to the table.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/796830

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice