1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Access denied error after using msconfig

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Billy the Adult, Jan 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Billy the Adult

    Billy the Adult Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    644
    Hi all.. I remember seeing this posted a few weeks ago and wondered if anyone else has come across the problem or a solution. After using MSCONFIG and applying changes I get the message "An access denied error was returned while attempting to change a service you may need to log on using an administrator account to make the specified changes".
    I've searched high and low and can't find any real reason.. And I'm the only account on my pc. Now for a new twist.. Today when I went by to do some maintainance on a business network out of curiosity I tried MSCONFIG on the computers there and lo and behold they all did the same thing.. These computers have nothing in common with mine as far as firewalls, antivirus, etc. (which I had read might be the culprit). The only thing I know that all have in common is they have all recently have had all Windows updates installed. So, anyone got any ideas? Thanks..
     
  2. Billy the Adult

    Billy the Adult Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    644
  3. RootbeaR

    RootbeaR

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,469
    One thing they all have in common you missed. You disabling services.
    I have all critical updates up to date, no problems.
     
  4. Billy the Adult

    Billy the Adult Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    644
    So your solution is to use normal startup and let 20 programs load in the background and hog memory.. I don't think so, but thanks for the comment.
     
  5. RootbeaR

    RootbeaR

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,469
    No. But perhaps you are disabling something you need.
    Also, I don't think it has anything to do with updates. If it does it usually only takes a day or two for MS to rectify so if you feel that is the problem they have had two weeks. Check for updates again.
     
  6. Billy the Adult

    Billy the Adult Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    644
    No, I didn't say I thought that updates were necessarily the problem. I said that was the only thing my home pc and the 5 at the business have in common. I tended to think the culprit was my firewall. I know Mcafee released a totally new version after the first of the year, and I had read where most people that are getting this message trace it back to Zone Alarm. But what fooled me was when the business computers did the same thing. They don't have Mcafee or Zone Alarm, but use a hard firewall and Norton antivirus. So, the search continues.. Maybe when I upgrade to Vista it will go away..
     
  7. bbearren

    bbearren

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,775
    There is a commonality to all the computers that gave you that message: they all run Windows.

    I would suggest that if you log on as "Administrator" and make those changes, you will get no error message.

    I have an account named "admin" that is a member of the Administrators group. And there is the Windows "Administrator" account. There are a couple of things that I haven't been able to do as "admin", but I have been able to accomplish as "Administrator".

    On the other hand, I never use msconfig to alter the startup routine. I edit the registry instead (after exporting a backup first, of course).
     
  8. Billy the Adult

    Billy the Adult Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    644
    There is only the original account that was installed on this pc 3 years ago..mine.. I've never had to log on, in fact it logs on automatically and doesn't even stop at the logon screen.. There aren't any other users..This occurence didn't start until about a month ago. I can't remember the last time I actually used msconfig but for 3 years up until this last time it worked flawlessly.. and what's even weirder is that it makes the changes even tho it gives me the message it can't. It's really just an annoyance and curiosity. I saw where others were having problems with it and wondered if anyone knew the actual cause... Thanks.
     
  9. bbearren

    bbearren

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,775
    When you click the start button, is there a name at the top of the "All Programs" menu?
     
  10. Endicott

    Endicott

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Do all of the PC have (or share) HP printers?
    Try this link: Tech Support Guy > Forums > Internet & Networking > Security > Solved: WinXP Login->logout loop
     
  11. muppy03

    muppy03 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,880
    Hi Billy, my son has the same problem, The thing is even though that message comes up the change you have made to start up STILL HAPPENS. So it has to be some kind of spyware????? So come on clever folk find an answer, I have googled but no success yet.
    The message does nothing but annoy lol
     
  12. x7turtle7x

    x7turtle7x

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    181
    Well, the reason why the Buisness Network did that is because (I'm assuming the server runs Server 00, or Server 03) someone set the policies so that people would quit screwing with them.

    I don't have Windows Server 2003 infront of me right now, but there are TONS of policies in that thing. Talk to whoever it is that manages the network.

    Now, has it always had this problem? Not letting you msconfig anything?
     
  13. firthy

    firthy

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Are you using a HP printer? If so, uninstall all the HP software and see if that clears it.
     
  14. tyger.eyez

    tyger.eyez

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Did anyone actually get to the bottom of this problem? Did uninstalling the HP software fix it? My issue is the same as the original poster. Basically I want to stop the 20 or so redundant exes starting up everytime I boot up and to stop my system tray being full of apps that I rarely use. I am using the System Configuration Utility startup panel to try and remove them. I am the only user on my pc and it is not networked to any other and is my own home pc and I'm running Windows XP Home Ed 2002 sp2. It is definitely not related to the fact that the exes I'm trying to disable are required to run my machine and therefore cannot be removed as I get the same error message even when trying to remove such apps as the Ebay Toolbar or iTunes Helper - so definitely not essential! Did anyone find out what caused the problem and/or what fixed it?
    Thanks in advance!!!
     
  15. firthy

    firthy

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    worked for me...I just run the scanner from a desktop shortcut link
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Access denied
  1. emptyxremedy
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    587
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/538058

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice