1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Access: FileType Yes/No

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by MRdNk, Mar 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MRdNk

    MRdNk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    439
    Hi All,

    I'm attempting to learn Access - whoot!

    Can you change the boolean FileType Yes/No to House/Flat?
    And importantly, if so, how?

    Its a property management database BTW.
     
  2. OBP

    OBP

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,895
    Yes
     
  3. MRdNk

    MRdNk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    439
    Excellent. How?
     
  4. MRdNk

    MRdNk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    439
    As I always ask people to attach an example, here's mine.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. MRdNk

    MRdNk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    439
    On the frmTennants I need some help getting the property to update based on the tennant.
    I'm an Access noob!
     
  6. jimr381

    jimr381

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4,189
    First Name:
    Jim
    Wouldn't you call the field House and then check it off if it is? You would assume that if it is not a house then it is a flat no? Or you could setup a lookup list that displays either response as well. If you look under datatype within the design view you will see a lookup wizard.
     
  7. MRdNk

    MRdNk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    439
    I understand you can have a set of different results, not a boolean.
    I assumed it would make sense, if was possible to set a either or, as a boolean.

    But I'm guessing by the answer, that this isn't the sensible way around it.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/698947

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice