1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Access permissions on home network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by coriantumr, Feb 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. coriantumr

    coriantumr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    MSHOME is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permissions. The network path was not found.

    This is the error message I get when I try to see any computers, printers, or storage devices connected to my home network. Sometimes, I can see other computers that are attached, but I cannot access them and receive a similar error message. Other times, I cannot even see any of my network. I have not lost connectivity to the internet, only to my local systems.

    There are several computers attached to my network, all are running Windows XP SP2. One of my laptops can see all and touch all, but the rest cannot. I’ll focus on the computer that I am currently on. It is an AMD 3000+ that is wired to a Linksys wireless N router that is connected to a cable modem. The SP2 firewall is off and I am running Zone Labs Zonealarm. My home network IP range is setup in the “Trusted” zone. I can ping the computers and devices attached, and can send print jobs to my network (wired) printer, but I can’t even view my home network, reference the error message above. And, as I indicated earlier, I don’t even receive the same error message day after day. All of my computers used to communicate with each other very well. I cannot say for sure when this trouble started. I don’t often try to attach to my other machines, but I sure can’t do it now.

    Does anyone have any suggestions as to what might have happened and how to rectify it? I would sure appreciate the help!
     
  2. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    The basics for troubleshooting are:

    1. Make sure you have the same IP scheme (e.g. 192.168.0.x).

    2. Make sure you have the same Subnet Mask, Gateway, and DNS IP addresses.

    3. Make sure you can ping the other computer's IP address. If this fails, just for testing, make sure you turn off XP's as well as any other firewall.

    4. Make sure you can ping the other computers by name.

    5. Make sure you have the same workgroup name (watch for trailing spaces)

    6. For troubleshooting purposes, turn off XP's and completely uninstall any other firewall software. You can always add more complexity after you get it working.

    7. With XP, make sure you have the same username and password as the person logging onto the other computers. The default setting for XP Pro is to require a password for network access.

    8. More details about how to network XP can be found at:
    http://www.onecomputerguy.com/networking/xp_network.htm

    9. More details about how to troubleshoot TCP/IP networks can be found at:
    http://www.onecomputerguy.com/networking/trouble.htm

    There continues to be a lot of misinformation about needing NetBEUI or to changing the NetBIOS setting. You can ignore both. Installing NetBEUI to solve a networking problem will just mask a some underlying and potentially important misconfiguration with TCP/IP. The default NetBIOS setting usually works. If browsing is a problem, you might set it to Enabled. But do not Disable it.

    ----

    If you are always getting Access Denied errors when trying to connect to a XP computer,
    and you know you have the correct user names and passwords on the computer,
    the solution may be a simple registry edit.

    1. Start Regedit
    2. Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE / SYSTEM / CurrentControlSet / Control / Lsa
    3. Change the value of a key called "restrictanonymous" to 0 instead of 1
    4. Don't change "restrictanonymoussam" value.
    5. Reboot
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,562
    Uninstall Zone Alarm and any other 3rd party firewalls (Cerelli's famous #6!) and if you still have any problems we can tackle them.
     
  4. coriantumr

    coriantumr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Bob,
    Thanks for the feedback. I disabled Zone Alarm, (then uninstalled it) and my problems seem to have been solved. Oddly enough, I've had ZA installed for 5+ years with regular updates and all was working well until a short while ago when the system decided to no longer recognize the home network. The only software that has really been updated recently has been Windows... Don't understand it, just have to be able to fix it!!

    Thanks again,
    Mike
     
  5. coriantumr

    coriantumr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Terry,
    I'd also like to thank you. As you can see from the post to Bob, the firewall was the problem. I don't know how it would start acting up, once I got it running the way I wanted it to, I leave it alone. Anyway, thanks for the help.

    Mike
     
  6. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    That #6

    6. For troubleshooting purposes, turn off XP's and completely uninstall any other firewall software. You can always add more complexity after you get it working.

    Get's it solved pretty frequently.

    Glad it's working and thanks for posting back
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,562
    I don't use Zone Alarm but from reading other threads I've developed the theory that after some of ZA's updates its configuration somehow changes. If you install it and again configure it to allow your LAN subnet you will probably be OK.

    Of course, both your router's and XP's firewall will protect you from incoming attacks, and encryption of your wireless keeps intruders off that, so what ZA adds is protection from outgoing attacks (e.g., spyware calling home). Is your risk sufficient to warrant the extra hassle of ZA?

    P.S.--since I only use XP's firewall, when I take my laptop to a public hotspot I set it to "On-No Exceptions."

    You may want to mark this 'solved' using the Thread Tools at the upper right.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/543043