Solved: Accidentally cut off Modem & Router - Wireless connectivity problems. Help?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Gunnerblaster

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
51
So, several days ago - I was cleaning house, bumped into the multi-socket switch and cut off power to my Desktop and the Modem and Router hooked up to it. I turned everything back on and messed around with the modem/router (Unplugging them and reseting them) until the internet started working again. Unfortunately, while using the internet wirelessly from my laptop - I run into momentary lag spikes every several minutes, as if I lose connection for 5-15 seconds. I've went ahead and called my ISP and they told me that the problem wasn't with my modem but with my router and since the router is a 3rd party (not their problem), they told me they couldn't help me. I'm using a Dynex Enhanced wireless G Router.

I've tried everything I know how to do (which isn't much, I admit), ranging from reseting the Router, logging into the Router and reseting it from there and re-doing all my preferences and encryption protection on the Desktop. For my laptop, I went and deleted the auto-connect icon and hooked back up onto it and did my password and everything but my internet is still going slow.

I need help - Badly. These momentary lag-spikes are driving me insane!
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2001
Messages
6,523
Don't know if this will be much help,but,
When you reset the router,did you hold the button in for at least 15 seconds?
Might try changing the wireless channel(1/6/11 in US )
 

Gunnerblaster

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
51
I did try reseting the Router and even holding the reset button for 15+ seconds. I've tried resetting the router, both, manually and via logging into the Router and resetting it there.

Neither do I know what a wireless channel is or how to change it - Could you possibly elaborate for me?
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2001
Messages
6,523
Should be covered in your router manual,but basically,you log into your router,go to the wireless section/basic wireless setting/wireless channel.May be a bit different on your router,but most are pretty much the same.
 

Gunnerblaster

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
51
Ah, I think I know what you're talking about. So, is it possible that my laptop and Desktop are both connected - Except my desktop is on one "frequency" channel while my laptop is on another? That is why it is still getting internet connection, just those odd lag-spikes?
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2001
Messages
6,523
So are both pc's wireless?
But the answer to your question is:No_One router works on one wireless channel.
 

Gunnerblaster

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
51
No, my desktop is hardwired to the router and modem (it's my "Base" for my internet). My desktop's internet runs fine. It's my Laptop that is having the trouble holding a solid connection and I think that the problem is either with my wireless router or the router settings on my laptop.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2001
Messages
6,523
I would try the channel change first and then for good measure,go to your laptop's maker's web site ,download and install the most current driver for your wireless adapter.
 

Gunnerblaster

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
51
Yeah - As far as a computer maker goes, Toshiba (personally) sucks for customer support. No luck finding any driver updates. I'm going back through my "New Updates" icon, though, and making sure everything is up to date.

Just change my channel for my Desktop and Laptop both to 1/6/11?
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,272
First Name
Terry
You change the channel on the router using, preferably, an ethernet connected computer.
 

Gunnerblaster

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
51
Is it a possibility that the settings on my laptop are different from my desktop and though I am connecting to the internet - It is causing these lag-spikes?
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,272
First Name
Terry
It is possible that you are now using a different channel and getting wireless interference; this is what pedroguy is trying to determine now. Next he'll probably ask you to try an ethernet connection to determine whether you have a router or laptop problem. :)

Pretty much anything is possible at this point. Trouble shooting tries to narrow the possibilities.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2001
Messages
6,523
Info in posts 1 and 7 to me indicate that the ethernet connection is not affected,but if that is not the case,please let me know.
 

Gunnerblaster

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
51
Alright - Thanks for the help. I'll be back to ask more questions, I'm sure - So I'll leave this unsolved, for the time being. On my way out the door, at the moment, so I'll have to try it later.
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,272
First Name
Terry
Info in posts 1 and 7 to me indicate that the ethernet connection is not affected,but if that is not the case,please let me know.
I may have missed something there (sure wouldn't be the first time! :D ), but I think that the laptop has not been tested with an ethernet connection.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top