1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Accidentally Disabled A Network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Bibinkay, Mar 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Bibinkay

    Bibinkay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Hey guys! I kinda accidentally disabled our internet network and I can't find a way to reconnect it with our adapter. I tried to troubleshoot it and also search for our device, and nothing seems to work. Do you have any idea how to restore it? Please help me or my Papa's gonna sue me. THANKS! :D
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,853
    can you be a little more specific is this just on a PC or a router
    could you give more detail and include make and model of PC and router , also the windows version running

    is this a wireless or cable connection ?
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,505
    Please explain what you mean by "disabled our internet network." Unplugged the modem or router? Cut the coax or phone cable outside? ...????
     
  4. Bibinkay

    Bibinkay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network
    VAIO E series VPCEA35FG
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,853
    still need more info , as terrynet mentioned we do not know what has been done to disabled our internet network it maybe you have simply switched the wireless adapter off on the PC - with the wireless switch , unplugged the router
    cut the cables with a lawnmower , or not paid the bill
    please take the time to describe the problem in detail - so we can help you
     
  6. Bibinkay

    Bibinkay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Router: NETGEAR Atheros AR9285
    PC: VAIO E series VPCEA35FG

    I was just going to diagnose our connection but then I accidentally clicked the wrong button which is the "disable" button.The problem is, I can't find a way to reconnect it with our wireless cause it is no longer seen on the lower right portion of the PC. Hope this information helps. This really means a lot to me. Thanks :)
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,853
    so this is just on 1 pc and you have no other devices using the network - if you do are they working
    what was the issue - 1 pc would not connect by wireless - all devices in the house do not connect
    go into device manager and find the network adapters
    and see if there is a red X on it
    if so right click the adapter and enable

    or have you switched OFF the wireless on the sony
    they often have a switch at the front that you need to move across - usually sprung so it goes back - there is also a light to show the wireless is ON

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager

    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Post back the results in device manager
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen, menu on the left hand side

    on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

    if the above does not work then

    Windows 7 or Vista
    Click on the Start Orb > In the Start Search box type > device manager and then press enter
    or
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    Windows 8
    If you happen to be using a keyboard with Windows 8, the quickest way to open Device Manager is via its shortcut on the Power User Menu, accessible by pressing the WINDOW and the X keys together.
    If on a touch screen - have a read here http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/a/device-manager-windows-8.htm

    once you are in device manager then

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X
    OR
    a RED X

    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool


    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  8. Bibinkay

    Bibinkay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Thank you so much! Thank you for your time and effort. I really really appreciate your help. MORE POWERS TO YOU!
    Ps. Oh yeah! Pardon me for my "English". Haha :p
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,853
    so just to help others here - what was the solution ?
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1091791