Solved: Acer 5315 wireless problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

denwbaseball

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
4
First post....I've searched and searched and can't find the same problem that I'm having.
I have an Acer 5315 and a Belkin router. My Acer when connecting wirelessly through the Belkin when a security password is turned on, my Acer cann't connect. It says its succesfully connected but I still cann't get to the internet. I'm making certain that I'm typing the password correctly....

When I disable any security on the Belkin and connect with my Acer it connects and takes me to the internet no problem.

Any ideas what the problem is? Is it the router or the computer?
I wouldn't mind so much but I travel a lot for work and all hotels have securtiy settings and I need to connect there and I don't want this to happen when I'm on the road.
So any ideas on what to do?

Thanks guys!
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,955
Please show ...

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

denwbaseball

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
4
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Warren>CMD
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Warren>IPCONFIG/ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Warren-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-E1-32-8F-36
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d58:f074:38ca:fcc1%17(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.5(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 10, 2011 6:48:58 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, February 17, 2147 2:45:30 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : wireless.cin.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Fast Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-EC-42-8B-EF
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.wireless.cin.net
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.Belkin
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\Warren>

Terry I live in Ottawa as well....small world!
Also this was done with the internet connected.....
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,955
Been seeing a whole lot of problems with that adapter the last couple months, especially with WPA(2) encryption. Gets an IP configuration, but communication is non-existent or sporadic.

In Device Manager right click on the wireless and "update driver." That apparently worked for one person. Then, unless you lucked out, download and install the latest wireless driver from your laptop manufacturer's web site. Assuming that also does not work all I can suggest is to use WEP or get an external wireless card. You might also bug your laptop's tech support about the problem--maybe people can put pressure on Atheros to find a fix.

But you're posting from out of state now, right?
 

denwbaseball

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
4
No I'm not posting from out of state. I'll be out of state next week.
When you say an external wireless card are you talking about one of the $30-$50 usb ones? Is there one you'd recommend? Are they just a plug it in and go type of thing?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,955
An external card can be a USB or, depending on the type of slot your laptop has, can be ExpressCard (newer PC) or PCMCIA (older PC).

You have to install the driver--from the CD or the latest from the manufacturer's web site--and then they are pretty much like integrated adapters. Usually they work fine and sometimes they are problematic.

I've had good results with the Airlink101 USB adapter model AWLL6080 on Vista and Windows 7, but doubt it's still for sale. My PCMCIA cards are even older and I've never checked to see if they will work with Vista or Windows 7.
 

denwbaseball

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
4
Went to walmart and bought a duel band netgear usb wireless adaptor and it worked like a charm.
Thanks Terry
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top