Solved: Acer Aspire 3690 Boot Problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mconnelly

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2011
Messages
214
I am working on an Acer Aspire 3690 laptop for a friend. The Manufacturer specs are (I don't have the ability to run TSG):


Processor / SpeedIntel® Celeron® M processor 420 with 1 MB L2 cacheCore Logic ChipsetIntel® 940GML ExpressSystem Bus Speed533 MHzRAM / Max RAM256MB / 2GB, DDR2 533 MHz soDIMMs.Video SubsystemIntel® Graphics Media Accelerator (GMA) 950, up to 224 MB of
shared system memory, supporting Microsoft® DirectX® 9.0LCD Properties
15.4" WXGA Acer CrystalBrite™ TFT LCD
1280 x 800 pixel resolution
(varies by model)Hard Disk Drive160GB Hitachi
CD-ROM Drive8X DVD-Super Multi double-layer drive or 24X DVD/CD-RW combo drive (varies by model)Battery, PrimaryLi-ion battery pack (4-cell) or
Li-ion battery pack (6-cell)
(varies by model)Sound SubsystemIntel® High Definition audio support
Two built-in Acer 3DSonic (1.5 W ) stereo speakers
Built-in microphone
Sound Blaster Pro™ and MS Sound compatiblePCCard Support1Type II PCCard slotPointing DeviceTouchpadPeripheral Subsystem4 USB 2.0, 1 VGA, 1 S-video/TV-out, 1 Microphone/Line-in, 1 Headphone/Speakers/Line-out, 5-in-1 card reader

Acer OrbiCam™1 integrated 310,000 pixel CMOS camera
(on selected models only)Modem56K ITU V.92 PPT approved, Wake-on-Ring readyEthernet10/100 Fast Ethernet, Wake-on-LAN readyDimensions / Weight14.09 x 10.43 x 1.15/1.41 inches
6.1 lbs (with primary battery)AC Power100-240V AC AutoSensing Adapter Environment
  • Shock
    Operational/Non-Operational
5 G max. pulse / 40 G max. pulse
  • Vibration
    Non-Operational
5-27HZ, 0.16" p-p, 2g peak, 27-500HZ
  • Temperature
    Operational/Non-Operational
+5ºC - +35ºC / -20ºC - +50ºC
  • Humidity
    Operational/Non-Operational
10% - 90% / 10% - 90%
  • Altitude
    Operational/Non-Operational
10,000 ft / 40,000 ftOperating System




















The issue is - At boot, there is an error message that reads:


Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:


windows root \system32\hal.dll
please reinstall a copy of the above file.


I can't seem to find a download or hard copy of the OS. I tried to boot a copy of PCLinux OS from a flash drive but, that doesn't work either.


The only thing I am able to do is access the Bios. Does anyone have any suggestions?


(sorry for the weird layout of this page. I copied and pasted the specs and this is how it affected the page :)).





Windows® XP Media Center Edition 2005 with Update Rollup 2
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,441
Do you have the Xp install Cd?
Try this from the recovery console.

Insert the XP cd in the CD ROM Drive then switch on the computer.
You will receive the following message:
This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft Windows XP to run on your computer:
To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.
Do Not press Enter
To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console, press R
At the Command Prompt window
Type
expand D:\i386\hal.dl_ C:\Windows\system32\hal.dll

The above is to copy the hal.dll file from the Cd to the system32 folder on the hard drive.
[D being the Cd drive letter - if different change it]
[C being the hard drive Xp is installed on]

You will be asked do you want to make the change.
Say - Yes.
Once that is done
Type
Exit.
Remove the Cd and restart our pc.
======
If you do not have the Xp install Cd.
Please download ARCDC from Artellos.com.
  • Double click ARCDC.exe
  • Follow the dialog until you see 6 options. Please pick: Windows Professional SP2 & SP3
  • You will be prompted with a Terms of Use by Microsoft, please accept.
  • You will see a few dos screens flash by, this is normal.
  • Next you will be able to choose to add extra files. Select the Default Files.
  • The last window will allow you to burn the disk using BurnCDCC
Your ISO is located on your desktop. - See more at: http://artellos.com/arcdc-page#sthash.rO5L8lne.dpuf
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,256
I am working on an Acer Aspire 3690 laptop for a friend.

Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005 with Update Rollup 2
To my knowledge, the Acer Aspire 3690 laptop comes with Windows Vista Home Basic.

What's the Windows version on its Certificate-Of-Authenticity sticker?

----------------------------------------------------------
 

mconnelly

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2011
Messages
214
I do not have the CD nor can I even boot into Windows. I can't use any other programs that need Windows to run because...I can't get to Windows.
 

mconnelly

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2011
Messages
214
It actually came with 4 different versions according to Acer support.
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,441
The following will let you download the Recovery Console ISO file and burn it to a Cd on a working pc.
You then boot from the Cd.
Download ARCDC from Artellos.com.
  • Double click ARCDC.exe
  • Follow the dialog until you see 6 options. Please pick: Windows Professional SP2 & SP3
  • You will be prompted with a Terms of Use by Microsoft, please accept.
  • You will see a few dos screens flash by, this is normal.
  • Next you will be able to choose to add extra files. Select the Default Files.
  • The last window will allow you to burn the disk using BurnCDCC
Your ISO is located on your desktop. - See more at: http://artellos.com/arcdc-page#sthash.rxB0tLB7.dpuf

Then do the following.
At the Command Prompt window
Type
expand D:\i386\hal.dl_ C:\Windows\system32\hal.dll
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,256
From the Acer Aspire 3690 support site.

I'll leave you with blues_harp28.
 

Attachments

mconnelly

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2011
Messages
214
O.K., so, we have different information. I know that the computer I am dealing with came with the OS that is installed. You have any suggestions for my problem?
 

mconnelly

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 23, 2011
Messages
214
I cannot get any further than the error message. I've attempted the boot that you suggested as well as several Linux distros and nothing happens, except the error message.
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,441
It is still trying to start from the hard drive - not the Cd.
The Bios needs to be set to boot [Start] from the Cd - it may already be set to do so.
If not, in the Bios you use the arrow keys to move the Cd to the top of the list.
Save and then Exit the Bios - pressing F10 will usually do this.
Make no other changes while in the Bios

http://michaelstevenstech.com/bios_manufacturer.htm

Acer Bios key at start up is either F1, F2, CTRL+ALT+ESC
You tap the key or keys as the pc is starting up.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top