1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Acer Aspire 3690 Boot Problems

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by mconnelly, Jan 4, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mconnelly

    mconnelly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    I am working on an Acer Aspire 3690 laptop for a friend. The Manufacturer specs are (I don't have the ability to run TSG):


    Processor / SpeedIntel® Celeron® M processor 420 with 1 MB L2 cacheCore Logic ChipsetIntel® 940GML ExpressSystem Bus Speed533 MHzRAM / Max RAM256MB / 2GB, DDR2 533 MHz soDIMMs.Video SubsystemIntel® Graphics Media Accelerator (GMA) 950, up to 224 MB of
    shared system memory, supporting Microsoft® DirectX® 9.0LCD Properties
    15.4" WXGA Acer CrystalBrite™ TFT LCD
    1280 x 800 pixel resolution
    (varies by model)Hard Disk Drive160GB Hitachi
    CD-ROM Drive8X DVD-Super Multi double-layer drive or 24X DVD/CD-RW combo drive (varies by model)Battery, PrimaryLi-ion battery pack (4-cell) or
    Li-ion battery pack (6-cell)
    (varies by model)Sound SubsystemIntel® High Definition audio support
    Two built-in Acer 3DSonic (1.5 W ) stereo speakers
    Built-in microphone
    Sound Blaster Pro™ and MS Sound compatiblePCCard Support1Type II PCCard slotPointing DeviceTouchpadPeripheral Subsystem4 USB 2.0, 1 VGA, 1 S-video/TV-out, 1 Microphone/Line-in, 1 Headphone/Speakers/Line-out, 5-in-1 card reader

    Acer OrbiCam™1 integrated 310,000 pixel CMOS camera
    (on selected models only)Modem56K ITU V.92 PPT approved, Wake-on-Ring readyEthernet10/100 Fast Ethernet, Wake-on-LAN readyDimensions / Weight14.09 x 10.43 x 1.15/1.41 inches
    6.1 lbs (with primary battery)AC Power100-240V AC AutoSensing Adapter Environment
    • Shock
      Operational/Non-Operational
    5 G max. pulse / 40 G max. pulse
    • Vibration
      Non-Operational
    5-27HZ, 0.16" p-p, 2g peak, 27-500HZ
    • Temperature
      Operational/Non-Operational
    +5ºC - +35ºC / -20ºC - +50ºC
    • Humidity
      Operational/Non-Operational
    10% - 90% / 10% - 90%
    • Altitude
      Operational/Non-Operational
    10,000 ft / 40,000 ftOperating System




















    The issue is - At boot, there is an error message that reads:


    Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:


    windows root \system32\hal.dll
    please reinstall a copy of the above file.


    I can't seem to find a download or hard copy of the OS. I tried to boot a copy of PCLinux OS from a flash drive but, that doesn't work either.


    The only thing I am able to do is access the Bios. Does anyone have any suggestions?


    (sorry for the weird layout of this page. I copied and pasted the specs and this is how it affected the page :)).





    Windows® XP Media Center Edition 2005 with Update Rollup 2
     
  2. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,786
    Do you have the Xp install Cd?
    Try this from the recovery console.

    Insert the XP cd in the CD ROM Drive then switch on the computer.
    You will receive the following message:
    This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft Windows XP to run on your computer:
    To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.
    Do Not press Enter
    To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console, press R
    At the Command Prompt window
    Type
    expand D:\i386\hal.dl_ C:\Windows\system32\hal.dll

    The above is to copy the hal.dll file from the Cd to the system32 folder on the hard drive.
    [D being the Cd drive letter - if different change it]
    [C being the hard drive Xp is installed on]

    You will be asked do you want to make the change.
    Say - Yes.
    Once that is done
    Type
    Exit.
    Remove the Cd and restart our pc.
    ======
    If you do not have the Xp install Cd.
    Please download ARCDC from Artellos.com.
    • Double click ARCDC.exe
    • Follow the dialog until you see 6 options. Please pick: Windows Professional SP2 & SP3
    • You will be prompted with a Terms of Use by Microsoft, please accept.
    • You will see a few dos screens flash by, this is normal.
    • Next you will be able to choose to add extra files. Select the Default Files.
    • The last window will allow you to burn the disk using BurnCDCC
    Your ISO is located on your desktop. - See more at: http://artellos.com/arcdc-page#sthash.rO5L8lne.dpuf
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,696
    First Name:
    Frank
    To my knowledge, the Acer Aspire 3690 laptop comes with Windows Vista Home Basic.

    What's the Windows version on its Certificate-Of-Authenticity sticker?

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. mconnelly

    mconnelly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    I do not have the CD nor can I even boot into Windows. I can't use any other programs that need Windows to run because...I can't get to Windows.
     
  5. mconnelly

    mconnelly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    It actually came with 4 different versions according to Acer support.
     
  6. mconnelly

    mconnelly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    4 different versions of XP that is.
     
  7. mconnelly

    mconnelly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    And, 1 version of Linux.
     
  8. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,786
    The following will let you download the Recovery Console ISO file and burn it to a Cd on a working pc.
    You then boot from the Cd.
    Download ARCDC from Artellos.com.
    • Double click ARCDC.exe
    • Follow the dialog until you see 6 options. Please pick: Windows Professional SP2 & SP3
    • You will be prompted with a Terms of Use by Microsoft, please accept.
    • You will see a few dos screens flash by, this is normal.
    • Next you will be able to choose to add extra files. Select the Default Files.
    • The last window will allow you to burn the disk using BurnCDCC
    Your ISO is located on your desktop. - See more at: http://artellos.com/arcdc-page#sthash.rxB0tLB7.dpuf

    Then do the following.
    At the Command Prompt window
    Type
    expand D:\i386\hal.dl_ C:\Windows\system32\hal.dll
     
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,696
    First Name:
    Frank
    From the Acer Aspire 3690 support site.

    I'll leave you with blues_harp28.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. mconnelly

    mconnelly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    O.K., so, we have different information. I know that the computer I am dealing with came with the OS that is installed. You have any suggestions for my problem?
     
  11. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,786
    See my posts above.
    Let us know if it helps or not.
     
  12. mconnelly

    mconnelly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    I cannot get any further than the error message. I've attempted the boot that you suggested as well as several Linux distros and nothing happens, except the error message.
     
  13. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,786
    It is still trying to start from the hard drive - not the Cd.
    The Bios needs to be set to boot [Start] from the Cd - it may already be set to do so.
    If not, in the Bios you use the arrow keys to move the Cd to the top of the list.
    Save and then Exit the Bios - pressing F10 will usually do this.
    Make no other changes while in the Bios

    http://michaelstevenstech.com/bios_manufacturer.htm

    Acer Bios key at start up is either F1, F2, CTRL+ALT+ESC
    You tap the key or keys as the pc is starting up.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Acer Aspire
  1. Sogle0529
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    712
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1140551

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice