1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Acer Aspire One, works fine, screen is black

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Cyclemut, Jan 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cyclemut

Cyclemut Thread Starter

I've gone through the usual searches, but the one thing that is different here is that the netbook still works. I can hold a mini-mag lite up to the screen and it everything is still working.

I did try to update the bios, I don't know which version I have, but I figured it couldn't hurt. My battery is also stuck in the "won't charge because I let it go down too far" status. The new bios was supposed to fix that as well. New version is 3310. I made a bootable flash drive (I think, I'm not sure if I did it correctly as I've never done that before) and attempted to update the bios. It's not doing what Acer and just about everyone else with a how-to says it should be doing.

After about 30 seconds, it just stops booting and starts. Perhaps it had updated the bios, I'm not sure.

But like I said, the computer is still working fine, just no backlighting on the screen so that you can see it. Make sense?

Anything I can do to see if there's just a loose connection or a solder joint I can redo? Thanks!

2. Cyclemut

Cyclemut Thread Starter

Sorry, forgot for mention, Aspire AOA 150

3. Cyclemut

Cyclemut Thread Starter

OK, putting this as solved, fixed it myself.

For future....whatevers.

I took the screen trim off (6 #0 phillips screws), then removed the screen itself (4 more #0 screws). I had to disconnect the microphone connector and the webcam connector in order to accomplish this as they wiring for these are taped to the back of the screen.