Solved: Acer Aspire z5700 can't find drives at setup

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bowmar

Thread Starter
Joined
May 30, 2003
Messages
625
Hi Guys,
Got a 2nd hand Aspire z5700 all-in-one computer.
Purchased and tried to install Windows 8 and at the point where you setup drives/partitions it says it can't find driver/drives.
Tried acer website (No drivers for this only chipset which doesn't work) and Intel AHCI Sata drivers and although these show in list them of being compatible with hardware, It then tells me that it can't find any drives.
Help !
I can't even go back to Windows 7 Home Premium as it now reports same issue, can't seem to find any assistance from Acer after 2 days of searching.
Any assistance would be very much appreciated !
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Are you sure the hard drive works in the laptop? Does it get detected and displayed properly in the BIOS?
 

bowmar

Thread Starter
Joined
May 30, 2003
Messages
625
Hi There,
Yes its in BIOS and was working prior to formatting hard drive to install Windows 8.
Problem seems to be either SATA Controller drivers, Windows 8 Does not have them, so it gives you choice to browse to Motherboard CD which I don't have.
Cheers
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Most systems will give you options in the BIOS to set the SATA controller mode, what is the SATA controller currently set too? Generally there will be a AHCI, RAID, and IDE but they could be called Native(AHCI) or Legacy Mode(IDE).

Also make sure the hard drive is listed in the boot order otherwise Windows may not allow installing to it.
 

bowmar

Thread Starter
Joined
May 30, 2003
Messages
625
Yeah tried switching BIOS to AHCI and IDE, No difference.
If I boot using Hiren's and use Seagate Tools to check drive it finds it and is able to test.
Problem is on loading windows, there are no drivers for SATA Controller it appears.
Can't seem to find what drivers are required.
 

bowmar

Thread Starter
Joined
May 30, 2003
Messages
625
Many thanks Triple6, this appears to have done the trick.
Have tried 14/15 driver packs from Intel site without joy, and had pulled out what little hair I had left.
Best wishes for 2013 to you.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top