1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: ACER tablet cannot reconnect to Net (Wi-Fi) after system restored to default

Discussion in 'Networking' started by wgreene, May 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wgreene

wgreene Thread Starter

I have been using my ACER tablet with my Netgear router for several months with no problems at all. Then last night I decided to restore my tablet to its default settings, meaning that all my programs, apps, files, etc., were erased. Then I rebooted my tablet and started from scratch, entering the requested information. Everything appeared to be going just fine until I turned on Wi-Fi and attempted to connect to my network (Secured with WPA2), which was available and showed Good signal strength. I clicked on it, then attempted to enter my password. As soon as I entered the first digit of my password, the option to Connect to the Internet immediately disappeared, becoming greyed-out. Repeated attempts to connect failed for the same reason.

I called ACER Level 2 Support and tried a couple of procedures which didn't solve the problem. One was pushing the Reset Button twice. The technician told me that I may have a problem with my router settings. He suggested that I go to a local fast food outlet and see if I could connect there. I went to McDonald's and was able to get on the Net without using a password. I returned home and tried again to connect, but still was unable to enter my password.