1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Acquiring Network Address

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Andy1212, Jan 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Andy1212

    Andy1212 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    2 days ago I was infected by the horrible Conficker virus that is going around. I decided to go onto the Microsoft website and follow their instructions on how to manually uninstall it. I went into my system registry and deleted the files that were not on the list Microsoft gave. After that point I was confused so I stopped. What I did seemed to have disabled the virus as I could install automatic updates. However when I turned my computer on later that night I was unable to connect to the internet as all my computer would do is "Acquiring Network Address".



    I searched around on google and followed various instructions that were given to people who are in the same boat as I am. So far I have:
    • Re-entered my wep key
    • Done 2 things involving start / run / cmd (I'm sorry that's all I know about what I did)
    • Put in a manual ip (this seemed to have worked as my computer said it was connected but in actual fact it was not)
    I am using a BT HomeHub V1 and my wireless adaptor is a Belkin 802.11g USB adaptor. I do not know much about network connections so can you please help me with my problem.

    Thanks
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    In the absence of any information to the contrary, I'm assuming XP here.



    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.



    Let's see this with a wired connection to the computer first.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. Andy1212

    Andy1212 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Thank you for the fast response. You are correct, I am running XP. Here are the details from the command screen

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Home>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : chucknorris
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Belkin Wireless G USB Network Adapte
    r
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-17-3F-34-01-9E
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254

    C:\Documents and Settings\Home>

    Is there a chance that this is related to me mucking up the registry or something to do with the virus?
     
  4. Andy1212

    Andy1212 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    I rang B.T. and they told me to type netstat -an into cmd. I came up with this

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\home>netstat -an

    Active Connections

    Proto Local Address Foreign Address State
    TCP 0.0.0.0:135 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 0.0.0.0:445 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 127.0.0.1:1028 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 127.0.0.1:1053 127.0.0.1:1054 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 127.0.0.1:1054 127.0.0.1:1053 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 127.0.0.1:1055 127.0.0.1:1056 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 127.0.0.1:1056 127.0.0.1:1055 ESTABLISHED
    UDP 0.0.0.0:445 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:500 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:1031 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:1032 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:1033 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:1034 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:1035 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:1036 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:1037 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:1038 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:1039 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:1040 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:1041 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:1042 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:1043 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:1044 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:1045 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:1046 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:1047 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:1048 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:1049 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:1050 *:*
    UDP 0.0.0.0:4500 *:*
    UDP 127.0.0.1:123 *:*
    UDP 127.0.0.1:1030 *:*
    UDP 127.0.0.1:1900 *:*
    UDP 127.0.0.1:44301 *:*

    C:\Documents and Settings\home
    They told me to run a spyware scan as that could have caused the problem.
    I do not know if this has anything to do with my problem but I decided to post it just incase
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Have you tried disabling all encryption and MAC filtering on the router and then connecting? What is the exact symptoms when you can't connect?

    FWIW, IP addresses of all zeros are normally caused by one of the following.

    Diagnosis:

    1. DHCP Service not running.
    2. Duplicate IP address on the network.
    3. Bad NIC card drivers.
    4. Defective NIC hardware.

    Resolution:

    1. Check Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services. The DHCP Client service should be Started and its Startup Type should be Automatic.
    2. Turn off ALL of the computers and other network connected devices, restart (power cycle) the router, then restart all the computers and other network devices.
    3. Check for upgraded drivers and/or reload the Network drivers.
    4. Replace the Network Interface Card.
     
  6. Andy1212

    Andy1212 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    I have tried to start the DHCP Client. When I pressed start an error message came up saying

    "Could not start the DHCP Client service on local computer
    Error 1083 The executable program that this service is configured to run in does not implement the service"

    Edit : This also happens when I try to start system restore via the services window
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Check the properties of the DHCP Client in Services and check the dependencies. See which dependency is preventing it from running. We need to track back to the source of the failure.
     
  8. Andy1212

    Andy1212 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    After I got the error messages, I decided to reformat my computer. This appears to have worked as I am now able to connect to the internet. As far as I am aware, I believe my problem was caused by my recklessness in my system registry. Thank you for your help JohnWill.
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    One of the MANY reasons we don't normally recommend registry cleaners, it's quite possible to clean your system into the ground! :D


    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the first page of the thread in the upper left corner.© :)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/793544