1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Ad Aware full screen at startup.

Discussion in 'General Security' started by South coast, Aug 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. South coast

    South coast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Hi, I am running Vista 2007 home premium.My question concerns Ad Aware free version 10.1.211.3382.Every time I start the computer, Ad Aware fills the screen.I recently updated it and have had this problem ever since.It normally resides as a small icon at the lower task bar.Any suggestions? thank you.
     
  2. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    101,662
    It might be a good time to update your computer specs in your profile. It says you're running Windows 98. :eek:

    So this sounds like it's actually starting up on boot so the interface of the program opens up.

    Please go here to download HijackThis.
    • To the right of the green arrow under HijackThis downloads click on the Executable button and download the HijackThis.exe file to your desktop.
    • Double-click the HijackThis.exe file on your desktop to launch the program. If you get a security warning asking if you want to run this software because the publisher couldn't be verified click on Run to allow it.
    • Click on the Scan button. The scan will not take long and when it's finished the resulting log will open automatically in Notepad.
    • Click on the Save log button and save the log file to your desktop. Copy and paste the contents of the log in your post.
    Please do not fix anything with HijackThis unless you are instructed to do so. Most of what appears in the log will be harmless and/or necessary.
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,648
    Get rid of Ad-Aware Antivirus and then replace it with Microsoft Security Essentials 4.0.1526.0 - which is light-weight and user-friendly and well-recommended here.

    If you're running Windows Vista Home Premium with only 1 GB of RAM, you need to add at least another 1 GB.

    That computer supports up to 4 GB of RAM.

    http://www.crucial.com/upgrade/Acer-memory/Aspire+Desktops/Aspire+T180-upgrades.html

    ------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. South coast

    South coast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    I decided to remove then reinstall Ad Aware.So far the problem has not reoccurred.Thanks to all for support.
     
  5. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    101,662
    Glad to hear it. :)
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1063840