1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Adding a slave drive, but my computer doesn't recognise it?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by b101, Apr 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. b101

    b101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    I have added an IDE slave drive to the PC, but my computer doesn't show it at all, having said that, disk management says seems to be there, but says it's "unallocated", do I need to put a new partition on it? It gives the option of primary partition or extended partition?

    It recognises the main hard drive, and says,


    disk 0
    Basic
    76.68 GB
    online

    (C: )
    76.68 GB NTFS
    Healthy system. Primary partition
    -------------------

    disk 1
    Basic
    37.27 GB
    Online

    37.27 GB
    Unallocated

    ------------------

    CD ROM 0
    DVD (D: )

    no media
    -------------------

    Originally I was going to try and put XP on the 37 GB drive which is now the slave, and may have installed some XP files on there and then later decided it would be best not to use it as the primary master, and use it as a slave, if there are some XP install files still there how, do you get rid of them, or what is the best thing to do?

    Cheers. (y)
     
  2. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    It looks like the xp install just got to the point where it
    made a partition and stopped before it formatted.
    Right click it in disk management and click delete/remove partition.
    Then right click it again and add a partition.
    Basic is fine.
    The right click it one more time and format it.
    Formatting takes a while depending on the operating system.
    Afterwards,it should be accessible.
     
  3. Mumbodog

    Mumbodog

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,889
    Yes create a partition, Use primary partition/NTFS format
     
  4. b101

    b101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Ok sounds good, but the only thing is when I right click on the drive it doesn't show the option to do delete/remove partition.. it just says

    new partition
    properties
    help

    If I click on new partition, "welcome to the new partition wizard" then click next, then the choice of primary or extended partition.

    Should I just do one of those partitions?

    Just to make sure I'm being clear, I'm using XP.

    Thanks.
     
  5. Mumbodog

    Mumbodog

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,889
    You are doing it right, pick primary Partition, and when asked format it NTFS

    .
     
  6. b101

    b101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Excellent thanks very much!
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/914263

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice