Solved: Adding and Typing In New Text Boxes, Dupes in Doc.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jllums

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
26
Hi,

Word 2002, OS XP

I have an existing document, a family tree of sorts, for high profile donors to our univ. Word is not the best application but that is all that I have to choose from.

There are currently 14 pages of text boxes, text, and arrows. On page seven I started tracking changes to data.

Now when I add a new text box anywhere in the 14 pages and type, a text box with the same information appears on page seven. If I delete one I delete both. The text no matter how formatted looks like a hyperlink.

There is no grouping or linking in the document.

Not sure what to do. Has anyone ever experienced this type of issue?
 

jllums

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
26
Can someone please try to help? I can forward a copy of the document, it is not private information.

This is the craziest thing I have ever seen.

Thank you!
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
345
Hello Jllums and welcome to the board.

What exactly do you mean by (started tracking changes on page 7)? Are you using the (track changes) tool? if so this should display a (baloon) of anything you add, delete or change where you add it not on a certain page.

Please explain exactly what you mean. I think it's a good idea to post your document to have a look at it.

Cheers
 

jllums

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
26
Hi! The track changes is not the issue. I added it as part of my description. The problems occured when I started tracking changes.

Now when I add a new text box anywhere in the 14 pages and type, a text box with the same information appears on page 7. If I delete one I delete both. The text no matter how formatted looks like a hyperlink.

It has been suggested that the error occurs because the orignator used the drawing canvas.

Thanks.

Jamie
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
345
nope... Click (Post a reply) then click the small triangle next to the attachment button > browse > upload > Click (Close this window). Make sure you zip the file before you attach it.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
345
Well I've tried adding shapes, text and formats to various pages inside and outside the canvas but nothing is appearing in page 7 (or any other page) except the track-change baloons so everything seems right to me.

- Try saving the document as a different name and see if the problem remains.
- I would also try copying and pasting everything in a new document and saving it under a new name.
- Finally, if you turn off the track-changes, does the problem persist?

I'm not sure if slurpee had a look and/or has different feedback
 

jllums

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
26
OK, I am a little frustrated that something as simple as copying and pasting resolved the issue, it is also frustrating that you did not experience the crazy duplication of text. I have shared the document with others in the IT department and they had the same issue I did.

Saving the document as a new name did correct the problem but the copying and pasting did. I think we need to convert the document to visio or org.chart. Maybe Word has hit its peak...LOL

Turning off the track changes had no effect on the document.

Thanks again.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
345
Good to know :) Can't really explain why but i know it sometimes happen. now gotta remove all the corrupted copies and distribute the good one before the disease spreads :D

Please mark the thread solved from the (thread tools) menu on top of the page
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
7,837
I was unable to make it have the same errors you were having - I could insert text boxes, delete them, edit them, link them, etc. as much as I wanted. The only thing you might look at is that additions are (as a default) kept in blue, so they could easily be mistaken for a hyperlink. You can change that easily enough, if you want - or click on them and choose Accept Insertion and the blue text goes away.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top