1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: adding row and column in same cell

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Excelnovice, Jan 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Excelnovice

    Excelnovice Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Hello,
    Is it possible in one cell to show the total of both the column and the row? The idea is that it would be a double check because they should add up to the same thing. I am working with Windows 2007.
    Thanks.
     
  2. stepheny2k2

    stepheny2k2

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    This would be a simple way but it doesn't look too nice. Play around with it.

    ="Column Total: " & SUM(H13:H15) & " Row total: " & SUM(D16:G16)

    example output: Column Total: 3955 Row total: 3955
     
  3. Excelnovice

    Excelnovice Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    I haven't quite got it to work, hampered by the fact that my software is in French but I will play around with this and see where I get.
    Thanks
     
  4. stepheny2k2

    stepheny2k2

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    If you copy and paste the excel formula into the cell you want the total to be in and change the cell references within the SUMs to the row and column you want to check then it should work fine.

    Good luck with the French.
     
  5. Keebellah

    Keebellah Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,553
    First Name:
    Hans
  6. Keebellah

    Keebellah Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,553
    First Name:
    Hans
    I downloaded the csv file from the link and saved it as an Excel sheet, added some vba code.

    All you need to do is double click in the first row (the language) you want and the language is sorted alphabetiaclly leaving English visible to compare

    Life made easy? I don't know but vba can be fun.:):p
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Excelnovice

    Excelnovice Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Copy paste worked on someone else's computer who has excel in English. The glossary is very useful.
    Thanks to you both
     
  8. Keebellah

    Keebellah Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,553
    First Name:
    Hans
    Don't forget to mark solved if this solved your problem
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved adding column
  1. FernJones
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    200
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/895746

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice