1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Adobe Flash Player 9 ActiveX

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by needafix, Jul 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. needafix

    needafix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    983
    I need to stop this and can't:

    Adobe Flash Player 9 ActiveX

    I hate flash and flash ads. Other than the ads it serves no purpose on my computer. Before Adobe got their hands on it I wiped everything that had anything to do with Macromedia Flash Player but that no longer is effective against Adobe Flash Player 9 ActiveX.

    This is just like MFP, it downloads and installs without warning or permission and every day it is on the add/remove programs list.

    If I turn off activex x stuff then I lose a lot and or an forever wasting time being prompted to refuse it. I would like to block it once for all.

    In the meantime I use No Flash 2.2
     
  2. Claymore

    Claymore

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,548
    I'm another anti-Adobe anarchist! You could try an alternative - FoxIt - available free here. You want the pdf reader. Much, much faster, integrates with your browser, no bloat, no update nags, no superfluous junk.
     
  3. needafix

    needafix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    983
    I use the foxit in the event I need to look at a .pdf but I need to get rid of this Adobe Flash Player 9 ActiveX.

    It is evil and serves no other purpose. If I shut off the signed and safe active x script thingy or whatever I am forever burdened with the prompt or I can't use many pages that use safe and signed activex for NON flash purposes.

    It is a malignant conspiracy to have this Adobe Flash Player 9 ActiveX rigged up like that.
     
  4. KeyesZX

    KeyesZX

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Why not just set them to prompt and not install the active x when it prompts you to?
     
  5. needafix

    needafix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    983
    The activex is so common. Either that or most of my haunts use it.
     
  6. needafix

    needafix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    983
    This is what I need to get rid of without infringing on everything else activex.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. needafix

    needafix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    983
    I even get it here on TSG.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/483262

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice