1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Adobe flash problem

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by boydphoto, Jan 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. boydphoto

    boydphoto Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    631
    First Name:
    boyd
    Hi. I get messages telling me that I need to d/l adobe flash. It doesn't work when I try to d/l it. As of today, you tube only plays audio, screen is black (no video). I tried solution I got from Google-uninstall flash, but my nod-32 shows alarm when I tried it.
    I'm somewhere between novice and light-weight user. Thanks for your help.



    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2350M CPU @ 2.30GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 4043 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics Family, 1797 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 584792 MB, Free - 445877 MB; D: Total - 21422 MB, Free - 2311 MB; E: Total - 4055 MB, Free - 4039 MB;
    Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 1695
    Antivirus: ESET NOD32 Antivirus 5.2, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    For Internet Explorer, download Flash from HERE.

    For Firefox, download Flash from HERE.


    If videos still do not play properly, try the following:


    Right-click inside a running video and select Settings...

    Once in there, select the Display tab and uncheck the "Enable hardware acceleration" box:

    [​IMG]
     
  3. boydphoto

    boydphoto Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    631
    First Name:
    boyd
    ... that I keep getting messages telling me that I need to download flash player. I follow directions and it seems to work for a little while. Then I can't play a lot of videos and I begin getting the messages telling me I need to download flash. Et cetera, ad infinitum.One of the responses I got from this site was from Phantom010, and it seemed to work for a few hours, then kaput.
    Thanks, Boyd.


    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2350M CPU @ 2.30GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 4043 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics Family, 1797 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 584792 MB, Free - 449431 MB; D: Total - 21422 MB, Free - 2311 MB; E: Total - 4055 MB, Free - 4039 MB; G: Total - 476937 MB, Free - 8262 MB;
    Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 1695
    Antivirus: ESET NOD32 Antivirus 5.2, Updated and Enabled
     
  4. zbd21

    zbd21

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    547
  5. boydphoto

    boydphoto Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    631
    First Name:
    boyd
    Thanks, zbd21. I did as you suggested but it didn't last before I got the attached message. This ALWAYS follows my downloading Adobe Flash.
    Thanks, Boyd.


    Contact Adobe Systems, Inc. for support
    Your version of Macromedia Flash ActiveX Control isn't compatible with this version of Windows.
     
  6. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  7. boydphoto

    boydphoto Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    631
    First Name:
    boyd
    Hi. Thanks for following up. I still get the messages telling me that I need to download adobe flash. (and/or) adobe flash activex control. I guess I'm something wrong, because I can't get it to work. Any help is appreciated.
    Thanks, Boyd.
     
  8. TOGG

    TOGG

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,889
  9. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    What browser are you using? IE9?

    Can you see Adobe Flash Player in your list of Programs?

    Can you see the plugin inside the "Manage Add-ons" window?
     
  10. boydphoto

    boydphoto Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    631
    First Name:
    boyd
    And I don't see adobe flash in my list of programs. My messages now tell me that I need Adobe flash activex. My eset nod32 antivirus won't allow me to download it. Why is this so difficult?
    Thanks, Boyd.
     
  11. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    My NOD32 has never stopped me from downloading anything. :confused:

    Disable it and try your download again.
     
  12. boydphoto

    boydphoto Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    631
    First Name:
    boyd
    Hi. I've tried everything I have read, and nothing helps. The latest on here i, "open 'tools'. then 'settings'...
    I'm using firefox and when I click tools there is no 'settings'. ?
    Please help,
    Boyd.

    PS: I'm a beginner, even though I'm an old dude.
     
  13. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    What's your version of Firefox?

    Can you download, install and run Flash with Internet Explorer?
     
  14. raybro

    raybro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,836
    I had this happen when I modified an entry in about:config for Firefox. See this TSG Thread for details about that.

    To check it do the following:

    1. In the address bar type in about:config (a new tab will open)
    2. You will get a warning about voiding warranty. Click the box that says you will be careful (and please do that)
    3. Scroll down to plugin.scan.plid.all
    4. The value (last column) should be True
    5. IF the value is True, exit the tab/window.
    6. IF value is False, double click the line and the value will toggle to True
    7. Close the tab/window.
     
  15. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,270
    I've merged both of your threads together here. Please do not start more than one thread for the same issue.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1085406

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice