Solved: Adobe Flash/Shockwave Player connection to browser issues

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

manofmarin

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
325
Windows XP Pro/IE8/Firefox/Google Chrome browsers

I have previously had Adobe Flash Player installed in past years and had not used it very often and uninstalled it. Now I find I have certain websites that require it for viewing content so I have recently installed Adobe Flash Player 16 along with Adobe Shockwave Player 12.1 which I believe is needed as a plug-in? (Both of these are the latest versions!)

I am using 3 browsers primarily because IE8 no longer displayes content on certain websites correctly, so I go to Firefox or Google Chrome on many occasions.(In actuality, both of these browsers load pages much slower than IE8 even though they still are supporting XP?)

My issue is that even with these new Adobe installations, all three browsers will not recognize the existance of Flash and Shockwave on my desktop and each browser asks me to dowload them to their individual browsers. It doesn't seem realistic that I should do this and override the existing installations so I have not tried this on any of the 3 browsers.

Why are the Adobe instillations on my XP not recognized and how can this issue be addressed and resolved?

Thank you for any assistenance!

manofmarin
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
23,729

manofmarin

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
325
Macboatmaster:

Thanks for including the image pages! I have changed both Adobe Flash Player AND Adobe Shockwave Player from disable to always allowed.

Awaiting further instructions,

Manofmarin
 

manofmarin

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
325
Macboatmaster:

My browser preferences are in order of use IE8, Firefox, Chrome. In IE8- Shockwave is enabled-can't find Flash? In Firefox - Shockwave is enabled-can't find Flash? In Chrome both Flash and Shockwave are enabled but when trying to open flash, I get a message the server refused the connection!

In otherwords nothing has changed regarding my problem!! Suggestions?

manofmarin
 

Phantom010

Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,796
The name of the Flash ActiveX in IE is Shockwave Flash Object, but it has nothing to do with the Shockwave Player, which you didn't need to install. It's pretty useless. In Firefox, it's Shockwave Flash. Chrome has its own integrated Flash Player. They all need to be enabled in your browsers.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
20,271
First Name
Liz
Flash for Windows 7 and older Internet Explorer
Code:
http://download.macromedia.com/get/flashplayer/current/licensing/win/install_flash_player_16_active_x.exe
Flash for all non-Internet Explorer browsers, except chrome which auto updates from within chrome
Windows 7 and older
Code:
 http://download.macromedia.com/get/flashplayer/current/licensing/win/install_flash_player_16_plugin.exe
After you have downloaded and installed both Flash items (no browsers can be open when you attempt to install flash), open FF, click on Tools, Addons then click on Plugins in the left pane. Check that you have Shockwave Flash 16.0.0.257 and also be sure Always activate is selected on the far right.
 

manofmarin

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
325
To all who have offered assistance:

I am thououghly confused by the conflicting advice. Let's try again and make it simple for me.

I would like to install Adobe Flash Player 16.0.0.257 for use on the Firefox browser only. I am utilizing Windows XP Pro as my OS. Can someone walk me through the process.

I don't need the program to operate on all 3 of the browsers I utilize. Just Firefox!

Thanks for the help,

manofmarin
 

manofmarin

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
325
Phantom010:

As always:"YOU DA MAN"!!!!!

Thanks to all who tried to help--that's what makes this site SPECIAL for the rest of us frustrated Computer users.

manofmarin
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
20,271
First Name
Liz
There is a new out-of-cycle flash update today to address some exploits.
16.0.0.287.
You probably have 16.0.0.257installed.
Update it now.

Also,
I don't need the program to operate on all 3 of the browsers I utilize.
even though you may not need it, you do have to make sure flash is up to date on IE and non-IE browsers, even if you never launch IE.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top