1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

(Solved) Adobe Premier 5.1

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Pat C, Jan 18, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Pat C

    Pat C Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,892
    I had a recent problem with freezing with my Adobe premier 5.1 program, and re-installed it. Now, when I play my video project, it is all choppy. All the settings are the same. What has happened?
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,114
    Hiya

    What is your OS and is this the demo version or full product? The reason I ask about the demo, is that some erros can occur after the time limit runs out.

    Now, what is your video card? Go to Control Panel | System. Device Manager. Under Display will be the name of your video card.

    Is it mpeg's that you have downloaded or is it something that you have created?

    When the freezes occured before, was this on load up or on playing?

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. Pat C

    Pat C Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,892
    Thanks for the help, and I have a VIA Tech VT8361/VT8601 Graphics Controller 4.12.01.3109 video card. Windows 98. I managed to fix the problem with the choppiness, it worked after i reinstalled the miro video program. But the problem with the freezing still occurs. When I go to preview a segment of my project that has any effects like slow motion or flicker removal, it freezes every time. Do you know what the problem is?
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,114
    Hiya

    Just looking to find out if your video card is able to be used as a video capture card. Its been asked in VIA forums, but no answer yet. Also, as is usually the case, it looks like its two chipsets on one, I think.

    Its actually a KLE133/PLE133 card. Well, on further look at these ones, it looks like it might be okay.

    Okay, well lets look at something else in the meantime. Go to Run and type MSINFO32. On the left choose Software Enviroment, then Startup Programs. Copy/paste the list here.



    Regards

    eddie
     
  5. Pat C

    Pat C Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,892
    Mount Safe & Sound Volumes Startup Group "C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee Shared Components\Safe & Sound\fbmount.exe"
    load Win.ini C:\OPLIMIT\ocraware.exe
    Taskbar Display Controls Registry (Per-User Run) RunDLL deskcp16.dll,QUICKRES_RUNDLLENTRY
    MSMSGS Registry (Per-User Run) "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
    eZulaMain Registry (Per-User Run) C:\PROGRA~1\ezula\eZulaMain.exe
    Mirabilis ICQ Registry (Per-User Run) C:\downloads\icq.exe -minimize
    ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
    TaskMonitor Registry (Machine Run) c:\windows\taskmon.exe
    SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
    LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Run) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    internat.exe Registry (Machine Run) internat.exe
    AlogServEXE Registry (Machine Run) c:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\AlogServ.exe
    AvconsoleEXE Registry (Machine Run) c:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\avconsol.exe /minimize
    New.net Startup Registry (Machine Run) rundll32 C:\WINDOWS\NEWDOT~2.DLL,NewDotNetStartup
    Vshwin32EXE Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
    SoundMan Registry (Machine Run) SOUNDMAN.EXE
    LoadQM Registry (Machine Run) loadqm.exe
    MISIctrl Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MISICTRL.EXE icon
    LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Service) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    SchedulingAgent Registry (Machine Service) mstask.exe
    VsecomrEXE Registry (Machine Service) c:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\VSEcomR.EXE
    VsStatEXE Registry (Machine Service) c:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\VSSTAT.EXE /SHOWWARNING
    Vshwin32EXE Registry (Machine Service) C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
    Hidserv Registry (Machine Service) Hidserv.exe run
     
  6. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,114
    Okay, might be able to do some stuff here.

    Mount Safe & Sound Volumes: From McAfee VirusScan version 5.x. Creates back-up sets of critical files in a separate area of a hard drive. If you make regular back-ups it's not needed and can be painful during system start.

    Taskbar Display Controls: Only appears in MSCONFIG if you have a Display Settings icon in the System Tray allowing resolution changes on the fly. Can also be disabled under Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Display -> Settings -> Advanced -> General

    MSMSGS: MSN Messenger utility starts up automatically every time you start Windows. If you don't use MSN Messenger, this can be annoying. Available via Start -> Programs - not required. Need to delete a registy key relating to msmmsge.exe if you disable it

    eZulaMain: Comes with "KaZaA" installation. Advertising Spyware. Kazaa is spyware. morpheus does the same stuff, and is not spyware http://download.cnet.com/downloads/0-1896420-108-76172.html?bt.48575.185

    Now, for the spyware, see at the bottom, as you also have new.net.

    Mirabilis ICQ: If connected to the internet, automatically runs up ICQ. Convenience more than anything. ICQ can be started from Start -> Programs

    ScanRegistry: keep

    TaskMonitor: The Task Monitor the disk-access patterns of programs when they are started and stores this information in log files in the Applog folder. Task Monitor also records the number of times you use a program. The Disk Defragmenter tool uses this information to optimize your hard disk so that programs that you use frequently are loaded faster. Not required - but can be useful. Note: for Norton Anti-Virus 2002 users, loading TaskMonitor will typically solve many, if not most, of those annoying IE scripting errors (per Symantec's Knowledgebase)

    SystemTray: keep

    LoadPowerProfile: Power management specifics such as monitor shut-off, system standby, etc. keep

    internat.exe: Language selection icon in system tray. Not required

    AlogServEXE: From McAfee VirusScan for logging scanning activities. It is reported to cause jerky graphics response in many games. Not required

    AvconsoleEXE: From McAfee VirusScan up to version 4.x. Used to schedule regular scans. If you don't have scans scheduled you don't need it

    New.net: Spyware. At the bottom

    Vshwin32EXE: From McAfee VirusScan up to version 4.x. Communicates between VSSTAT.EXE and the VShield System Scan module. Can be started automatically or available via Start -> Programs. Personally, I disable "System Scan" via the Vshield icon leaving only "E-mail", "Download" and "Internet filter" enabled. System Scan checks for on Run, Copy, Create and Rename which slows things dramatically.

    SoundMan: ???

    LoadQM: Loads the MSN Explorer Query Manager - a waste of resources and bandwidth. Also installed by the latest version of MSN Messenger. Note that disabling this can sometimes prevent internet sharing working on Win2K Pro SP2

    MISIctrl: ???

    SchedulingAgent: Microsoft Scheduling Agent displayed as a box with a stopwatch in the System Tray that is only needed if you have regular scheduled disk defragmenting, ScanDisk, etc. I'd recommend you run these at regular intervals manually as they can interrupt other programs

    VsecomrEXE: From McAfee VirusScan up to version 4.x. This executable is responsible for the periodic "update" prompts. Not required

    VsStatEXE: From McAfee VirusScan up to version 4.x. Handles program communication among VShield components, displays VShield icon. Can be started automatically or available via Start -> Programs. Personally, I disable "System Scan" via the Vshield icon leaving only "E-mail", "Download" and "Internet filter" enabled. System Scan checks for on Run, Copy, Create and Rename which slows things dramatically.

    Vshwin32EXE: From McAfee VirusScan up to version 4.x. Communicates between VSSTAT.EXE and the VShield System Scan module. Can be started automatically or available via Start -> Programs. Personally, I disable "System Scan" via the Vshield icon leaving only "E-mail", "Download" and "Internet filter" enabled. System Scan checks for on Run, Copy, Create and Rename which slows things dramatically.

    Hidserv: This is the Human Interface Device Server, it is required only if you are using USB Audio Devices you can disable via Msconfig. See here. Typical examples are USB mulitmedia keyboards with volume control and web-ready keyboards. For example - loaded by default with MS DSS80 Speakers because they have Volume, Mute and Bass controls on the speaker

    Now, lets sort out that spyware.

    Go here and download AddAware www.lavasoftusa.com also, get Refupdate to get the latest updates. Run the Refupdate first. DON'T run Addaware yet.

    For the new.net, have a look here:

    http://www.cexx.org/newnetfix2.htm

    Now, Kazaa. Go to AddRemove via Control Panel and uninstall Kazaa.

    Now, go to Run and type MSCONFIG. Startup tab. Uncheck the eZulaMain and new.net, apply and restart.

    Now, after these have both been removed, run AddAware. hopefully, it won't come up with much but if you're unsure, copy/paste the list here. Make sure Deep Registry Scan is enabled.

    Now, for the other files that you have on startup, for the ones that you don't want, just uncheck the same way that you did for the spyware, apply and restart. If you're unsure, do them seperately, but apply and restart after each one.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  7. Pat C

    Pat C Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,892
    Will try that but will I have the same results as if I close all those programs after the computer starts up .I have been closing everything except Eplorer ,systray and rundll.
     
  8. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,114
    The programs that you close using ctrl-alt-del are just a few that you can see.

    The ones that are in your startup are ones that are always running. They are a big rescource hog. I only have a few things running.

    Also, you have some spyware, which may be causing a problem.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  9. Pat C

    Pat C Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,892
    Hi,
    How do you know all this stuff.I've always wanted to get rid of all that stuff on start up but never knew how to do it. Before I start doin this there are a few things that I'm not sure about: You said, "for the new.net have a look here". Is there something I should download from that site? Also I'm confused about the part about running Addaware- if I'm unsure about what ? Sorry ,I'm new at all this .Thanks for helping out.
     
  10. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,114
    Thats okay.

    For the startup, most of us here use this:

    http://www.pacs-portal.co.uk/startup_content.htm#Select

    However, some of the files that startup aren't listed. The spyware bits people learn about gradually. Just being at this site for a while, reading as many threads as you want is also a great way to learn. I do this now and then.

    For the new.net, its not what to download but how to uninstall it.

    The best way to start off, is to go to AddRemove via Control Panel. Once there, look for new.net in the list and, if there, use AddRemove to uninstall it.

    Then, if you can or cannot find it, go to Find Files and Folders and type in:

    newdot*.*

    I'll stay online for this if you want. Just type it in, search under c:\ and tell me what it finds. We can then proceed slowly.

    As for the AddAware, which we will run at the very end, the part about Unsure, is when you have run it, a list will appear. Some people are wary about removing anything, especially if Web3000 or new.net come up. As you have the latter, we will sort that out first.

    Ignore AddAware for the moment.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  11. Pat C

    Pat C Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,892
    net .net aplication is on my Add/Remove program. Should I just hit the uninstall button
     
  12. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,114
    I assume you meant new.net If it is, then yes.

    eddie
     
  13. Pat C

    Pat C Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,892
    It's gone. what should I delete next
     
  14. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,114
    Okay

    No, go to Find Files and Folders from Start and type in

    newdot*.*

    Make sure that the look in is your C Drive

    Does anything come up?
     
  15. Pat C

    Pat C Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,892
    Can't find Kazaa in add/remove
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/65399

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice