Solved: Adobe Reader has no menu bar in Win8

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Alex Ethridge

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 10, 2000
Messages
9,185
The title says it. How do I get a menubar. I can't print or even exit Adobe Reader without Ctrl+Alt+Del> End task.
 

davehc

David
Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2006
Messages
2,059
Not the answer, perhaps, to your question. But you do not need Adobe reader in Windows 8. It has its own built in PDF reader
 

Alex Ethridge

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 10, 2000
Messages
9,185
Well, I just assumed it was Adobe Reader. I didn't install Adobe Reader; perhaps the owner did. Still, though, I would like to know how to fix this no-menu problem even if it is Adobe Reader.

I'm not at that location at present; but, I hope to find a solution to try and connect up by remote and see if I can fix it.

The more I am called to work on Windows 8, the more I see the average user needs an on-demand tech at his side at all times. The designers obviously assumed a ridiculously high level of expertise about their users.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,776
Strange. I installed Adobe Reader (vers. 10.1.5) and the Menu bar still shows by default. But, Rearden has the solution for you.
 

Alex Ethridge

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 10, 2000
Messages
9,185
I Googled and found that same information before posting here. I tried F9 and nothing happened. I tried all the F-keys and nothing happened.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,776
If it is the included Modern UI READER App that you mistook for the Adobe Reader then you "control" it the same way as other Apps. Exit by pulling the top of the screen (with the mouse pointer) to the bottom. Or leave it running and get back to the Start screen with the <Windows Logo> key.
 

Alex Ethridge

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 10, 2000
Messages
9,185
We've got it fixed. Modern UI Reader was the problem. We installed Adobe Reader and now have full functionality.

Thanks for the help.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top