1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Adobe Settings

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by floydcojacket, Jun 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. floydcojacket

    floydcojacket Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    250
    My natural gas supplier uses Adobe to open my gas bill on the internet for the detailed breakdown.
    This month, I have become unable to open this Adobe feature. I can go the utility's website, click on the "View Bill" button and all I get opened up is a blank white screen.
    The utility company advised that they can find no problem and that no one else has reported this same issue.
    To resolve this issue, I was advised to change the settings for Adobe.
    Can anyone share how to do this? I have no clue.
    I'm using Windows 7 w/Microsoft Office 2007 and Adobe x.
    I have run my malware bytes, my Kaspersky, as well as PC Matic and no problems are showing up w/my computer.
    Any suggestions?
    Thank you for your help.
     
  2. Willum

    Willum

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Is the bill opening in your internet screen?
    If so, you see an the url from the pdf in the address bar. Select the address bar and press enter.
    Does it open then?

    I sometimes have the same issue..

    If this is not working, press right click on the "View Bill" and select "Save link as..." or something (don't know the exact words in English). The pdf file is saved on your computer, try opening it then.
     
  3. floydcojacket

    floydcojacket Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    250
    Thanks for your reply.
    I followed your advice by right clicking, copying shortcut, and then pasteing to the website window.
    I'm getting a message: 2012&bt=(1) couldn't be downloaded.
    I'm then given the choice of clicking on....Retry......Cancel........View downloads.
    Tried the Retry, but no good.
    BTW, I am able to open other Adobe files, just not this one.
    Thanks again
    any more suggestions?
     
  4. Willum

    Willum

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    you don't have to copy it to your website windows.

    right click on the "View Bill" link, select "save link as", a Save as window will open and you can save it directly to your pc (the pdf file)
     
  5. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,806
    which browser
    is this in Internet explorer or in Firefox
    Assuming IE, either do as suggested & right click the link to the pdf & select save as or check IE settings and select tools/safety and turn off tracking protection & active X filtering
     
  6. floydcojacket

    floydcojacket Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    250
    I don't get the "Save Link As" option but I do get the "Save Target As" option.
    Attempted to save that but I get a dialog box w/message, "couldn't be downloaded".
    Thanks anyway.
     
  7. floydcojacket

    floydcojacket Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    250
    Using IE 9
    Checked as you advised but neither of these options are in use.
    Thank you for your reply.
    Anymore suggestions?
     
  8. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,806
    if you get a couldn't be downloaded, then that is why it isn't appearing in the browser either
    it is a fault at the website end & all you can do is contact them

    the only other thing you can try is an alternative browser like firefox or chrome & see if it works in that, but I doubt it will
     
  9. floydcojacket

    floydcojacket Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    250
    I'm assuming this is an Adobe PDF file.
    Reason: When I originally called the utility to report the problem, I was asked if I had the latest Adobe update.
    I then clicked on the Adobe button directly under the "View Bill" button to do any updating that was necessary.
    I then learned that I already have the latest update of Adobe.
    After right clicking the "View Bill" button, I then clicked the "Properties" button and got this:
    "ASPX file"
    Is ASPX an Adobe file?
     
  10. floydcojacket

    floydcojacket Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    250
    Thank you again for your help.
    My wife just tried it on her laptop and it opened up for her.
    Must be something wrong in my desktop computer.
    Thanks again for your help.
     
  11. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,806
    APSX is a file used on the webserver

    have you triied it with an alternative browser on your computer?
     
  12. floydcojacket

    floydcojacket Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    250
    GOT IT...GOT IT...GOT IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I did a IE repair procedure and it is now corrected.
    Thank you all for your advice and help.
    Have a wonderful and blessed day.
     
  13. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,806
    First of all lets just check if a pdf reader is enabled in the browser
    open IE/tools/manage addons
    selct toolbars & extensions then in the drop down box underneath the word "show" selct all addons ( it defaults to currently loaded)
    look for adobe pdf, there should be 2 entries, make sure both are enabled. If they are then we need to do teh next step

    no don't uninstall or reinstall. the best way to deal with it is Open IE/tools/internet options/advanced
    scroll down & select reset IE to default
    that removes any add ones & customisations & resets IE to factory default settings
     
  14. floydcojacket

    floydcojacket Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    250
    I only have one Adobe feature showing.
    Adobe Systems Incorporated Section:
    Name: Shockwave Flash Object
    Publisher: Adobe Systems Incorporated
    Status: Enabled

    I see nothing about PDF listed
     
  15. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,806
    if it is working, don't worry
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1058702