Solved: ads blocked

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gmcsierra99

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
2,611
i blocked my ad's but now i want it all back to normal, can someone help me fix this? thanks.
 

gmcsierra99

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
2,611
no program, i was on Inuyasha320's homepage, and it said how to disable ad's or something.
 

gmcsierra99

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
2,611
u have to click Internet Explorer, and go to the bottom of the page.
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
Close Internet Explorer:
Locate the hosts file in the directory given on the tips page:
C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc

and rename the Hosts file to ghosts

Restart Internet Explorer, let us know if that works for you.
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
896
i have 2 ad blockers there

one for the hosts file and the other for the firefox

i stopped wasting time making new avantbrowser filters

i am currently working on remaking the firefox adblock filter all over ( new start) it will be much better than the old one


if you have any problems with the hosts file one, just open the hosts ile and all of the text in there

(the most successful adblocker i have is the firefox adblocker)
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
Yes, you can key that in or paste it in the Search window or use Windows Explorer and navigate to that directory.
 

gmcsierra99

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
2,611
ok i found it, the name is "etc" and it's in "C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc", soo i think this is the right one, how can i rename that?
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
gmcsierra99 said:
ok i found it, the name is "etc" and it's in "C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc", soo i think this is the right one, how can i rename that?
etc is the name of a directory, not a file. :confused:

You are looking for the hosts file, rename the hosts file: ghosts
Right click on the hosts file, select Rename and key in ghosts
Press the Enter key to accept the change.


Deleting items is a bad idea, try renaming first in case of undesired results.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top