1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Advent Roma 2001

Discussion in 'Networking' started by griflex, Dec 30, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. griflex

griflex Thread Starter

Hello all,

This is my first time on here so a big hello to everyone.

I have an Advent Roma 2001 laptop that will not connect to the internet via wirless.

I have removed the connection then tried to reconnect via the control panel but when asked for the password which I imput and I know is correct the connect to network box ( windows 7 ) pops up on screen states " windows unable to connect to the network ".

My netgear router is working fine as I have another laptop and 2 ipads connected wireless and are all working fine.

When I look at the task bar at the bottom of the screen the indicator bars next to the time and date show a yellow question mark and when I hover over this with my pointer a box appears with the wording " Not connected - Connections are available".

Is there anyone who could possibly know what may be the problem?

Regards

griflex

2. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry
    Were you ever able to successfully connect to this network?

Disable encryption on the router and try to connect. If successful re-enable encryption and try to reconnect.

3. griflex

griflex Thread Starter

Hi,

In answer to your question,

Yes, I was able to connect wireless to the internet before this problem but about a week ago it just stopped connecting.

I have just disabled the encryption on the router but the laptop would still not connect.

Hope this helps.

Thanks

griflex

4. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry
    Can you successfully connect by ethernet?