Solved: after clicking start on games it crashed to desktop

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sadtravels

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
5
when I start any game even games I have been using for over a year the screen goes black as if its going to start but after 2 seconds it crashed back to my desktop---any suggestions please.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2005
Messages
122
sadtravels said:
when I start any game even games I have been using for over a year the screen goes black as if its going to start but after 2 seconds it crashed back to my desktop---any suggestions please.

When was the last time you played these games? One week 2 months or how long? Have you done the usual. Scan virus etc etc.
 

sadtravels

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
5
the last time i actually played any games through the dvd-rom was about 2 months ago, 1 of the games i am able to play if i insert it into the dvd-rw drive (rometotal war) but since the problem started i can install anything but not start it. I have checked the drivers and firmware and all is ok, virus scans are done on a regular basis.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2005
Messages
122
If you are running Xp. Why not try a restore point when it was last working? Have you deleted something without actually uninstalling it properl?. I have done that before and ****ed up some programs.
 

sadtravels

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
5
yeah I have doen the restore and even a system restore, thin k its going to have to go in and be serviced, very frustrating buying a new game and not being able to play it (battlefeild 2)
thanks for your advice anyway Jockstar
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2005
Messages
586
The video card is your problem; you are trying to play games that are far too advanced for you onboard video card.

Most games will crash after they startup if the computer is not able to handle them.

If you want to play newer games, you are going to have to purchase a new video card.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top