1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: AIM constantly disconnecting and reconnecting...

Discussion in 'Networking' started by NWABCS, Feb 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. NWABCS

    NWABCS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    AIM will disconnect and reconnect. It does this on my laptop and desktop.

    Comcast Internet
    Linksys Router
    Laptop: Windows 7
    Desktop: Windows XP

    I have tried going to settings, then connection, then auto configure but that changed nothing. Any help is GREATLY appreciated. I can live with it but it can be annoying.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
    if both computers are disconnecting it may be a faulty internet connection or router/modem connection or wireless if on wireless
    how are each of the PCs connected

    Exact model of the router - when it disconnects what are the status of the lights ?

    can you post the following when its working and then repeat when disconnected

    {ipconfig /all}
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all

    -> Start > run {search bar in Vista} > cmd > ipconfig /all
    post back the results here


    TWO Methods to do that - if you cannot access the internet with PC, then use method 2 to copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Method ONE -------------------------------------------------------------
    start > run {search bar in Vista} > cmd > ipconfig /all

    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Method TWO -------------------------------------------------------------

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

    Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    {Ping Tests}

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    then:
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all

    Post back the results

    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.191.93.53
    post back results

    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    -------------------------------------
     
  3. NWABCS

    NWABCS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Laptop is wireless (as is my ps3).

    The issue, I do not think, is my internet. Every 3 or 4 days it will go out, I will unplug modem, and it will go back to normal. However, I am having this AIM disconnect then immediately reconnect all the time.

    I will do your suggestion on desktop later today. As that is where the cable is connected to modem/router.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
    thats not good - it should stay up a lot longer than that - I had a modem router connected for 4 years without a drop .....when it did it was the ISP
     
  5. NWABCS

    NWABCS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    I have Comcast and I have talked to a few people who say it is a common issue, ugh.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Register at DSLReports and run their Line Quality Tests. It's best to run this test with a direct wired connection to eliminate any wireless issues from the results. It's useful many times to run this test several times, and we'd like to see each of the results. Post the results link from the top of the test display page for each test run here.

    The link to post is near the top of the page and looks like:

    If you wish to post this result to a forum, please copy/paste this URL
    http://www.dslreports.com/linequality/nil/2357195 <- sample only, yours will obviously be different!
    and your IP will be disguised.

    Copy/paste that link here.

    Note: You will have to enable PING (ICMP) request response either in your router (if you have one), or in your computer's firewall for direct modem connections. This is very important to get the most important part of the test to run.


    DSLReports

    Here's also the Line Quality Tests FAQ to help you understand the results. This will answer some questions about the line quality display.
     
  7. NWABCS

    NWABCS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    To etaf: Linksys Wireless Model WRK54G. When it goes out, the lights on Router and Modem are all fine, just no connection. Below are ipconfig/all results while connected. No clue when it will go out again. It's random.

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Benjamin Lewis>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DCKGWJ81
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.pa.comcast.net.

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.pa.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-20-7C-40-AF
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.102
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.75.198
    68.87.64.150
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, February 24, 2010 4:54:43
    PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 25, 2010 4:54:43
    PM

    C:\Documents and Settings\Benjamin Lewis>
     
  8. NWABCS

    NWABCS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    To JohnWill: I was not able to do the full test due to the non pingable issues. I adjusted the McAfee settings but probably have a router/modem issue :( Test results are below anyways.

    http://www.dslreports.com/testhistory/1713762/7faf5

    (Dunno if it will help at all since I could not get full test)
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You need to enable pings in the router, not in your software firewall.
     
  10. NWABCS

    NWABCS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    I searched online but could not figure out how to do it. :(
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    What is the exact make/model of the modem?
     
  12. NWABCS

    NWABCS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Linksys Wireless Model WRK54G
     
  13. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    That's the router, there's a modem in front of it.
     
  14. NWABCS

    NWABCS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    sorry i'm an idiot.. i didn't read correctly.

    modem is arris tm502g

    came from Comcast
     
  15. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Turn off the modem and computer.
    Connect the computer directly to the modem for a test.
    See if the issue happens connected directly to the modem, this will eliminate the router as the source of the issue.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved constantly disconnecting
  1. ahha82
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    378
  2. KrissyK
    Replies:
    23
    Views:
    623
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/905530

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice