1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Aligning IP Addresses using Wireless and Ethernet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by brainwave89, Feb 7, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. brainwave89

    brainwave89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    391
    I work in small office with four users and we use Comcast as our ISP. A separate room from the office has our cable modem. The cable modem has a Ethernet cable going to a WRT54G WAN Port. The WRT54G is not being used as a wireless router.
    Coming from the LAN ports is a Ethernet cable going to a Netgear switch.
    The office has Ethernet ports and one of them is hooked up to a Netgear WDNR3700 wireless router. All users are utilize the wireless network to get online. There IP Address is 10.0.x.x. When I use a Ethernet cable to a computer my IP Address is 192.168.x.x.

    What needs to be done so the IP Addresses of the wireless network and wired network use the same IP Address range?

    Thank you.
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,379
    First Name:
    Chuck
    If the Netgear WDNR3700 is connecting to your network through its WAN port, the easiest solution might be to have it connect through one of its LAN ports and use it a switch. Here is a link to the TSG library article that explains how to connect two routers to form a single network. Your WRT54G would be the primary router and the WDNR3700 would be the secondary router in this case.

    http://library.techguy.org/wiki/Connecting_two_SOHO_broadband_routers_together
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,944
    First Name:
    Terry
    Or you could connect the computer in question to the same router to which the others are connecting.
     
  4. brainwave89

    brainwave89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    391
    Thank you cwwozniak and TerryNet.

    I was stuck mentally on assigning the "correct" primary and secondary router. Once I switched my thinking on which one is the primary router it worked great.

    Thank you.
     
  5. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,379
    First Name:
    Chuck
    You're welcome (y)
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1088588

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice