Solved: All devices except laptop connect to wifi?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

idiotic-mess

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 19, 2014
Messages
6
About a week ago, my laptop just stopped connecting to my wifi. I have an HP Pavilion dv6 running Windows 7 (64-bit). I've had this laptop for about four years, if I'm not mistaken, and I have never had problems such as this before. It can detect neighboring connections, but it just doesn't detect my personal wifi. The router/modem is not the problem because I can connect to them with my other devices just fine (Samsung Galaxy S3/S4). I am able to connect via Ethernet cable, but of course this is a terrible inconvenience. Cuddling my router is not something I feel I'd want to do just to get some work done.

I have tried:
- restarting my router (Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Router model WNDR3400)
- restarting my laptop
- system restore
- uninstalling and reinstalling wireless drivers (originally was Intel WiFi Link 1000 BGN, when reinstalled it changed to Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000)
- changed router settings (router channel, password/security options)
- manually connecting through Control Panel (SSID is not set to be hidden, but still couldn't be found)
- troubleshooting (nothing was found)
- updating basically everything (router firmware, drivers, software, etc.,)

Long story short, none of this worked. I feel as though I have tried everything I could find within multiple forums and endless internet surfing, but I am simply out of ideas at this point.
The connection on my other devices is slow, but they connect nonetheless.
Any help is strongly welcomed, perhaps it may be time for a new computer/router..
Note: I am not as tech savvy as I make myself appear to be in this post, but I know my way around the computer for the most part. :)

Additional Laptop Specs
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 350 @ 2.27GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 2
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 3893 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, 1722 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 454859 MB, Free - 362052 MB; D: Total - 21775 MB, Free - 3171 MB; E: Total - 99 MB, Free - 83 MB;
Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 144C
Antivirus: Norton 360 Premier Edition, Updated and Enabled
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
1) It can detect neighboring connections, but it just doesn't detect my personal wifi.
2) - changed router settings (router channel, password/security options)
3) - uninstalling and reinstalling wireless drivers (originally was Intel WiFi Link 1000 BGN, when reinstalled it changed to Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000)
sounds like the wireless is working from the first statement 1) above
I would suggest perhaps its a channel issue , as in the US you use channel 1-11 but in Europe 1-13 is used ,and frequently if a router goes to channel 12 or 13 , us devices cannot see the wireless
BUT point 2) seems to have covered that

can you post an xirrus screen shot please

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Download and install

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
( the site now appears to require a business email, and does not allow webbased emails like gmail,hotmail or yahoo etc )

Use the links below

http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html
http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Monitor-Download-99109.html

Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
if you get an error - You will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

Run the program

A user guide is available here
http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0

post a screen shot of the program running.
if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)


Note:
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

To post a screen shot of the active window.

Windows XP
Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

Vista or Windows 7
you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

Windows 8
you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
>Press the Esc. key.
>go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
>Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
see here
http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/


To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
can we see an xirrus from a working PC please and your network
 

idiotic-mess

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 19, 2014
Messages
6
My network is Bubblez98. I have a dual band router so I have two connections. My 2.4 GHz is on Channel 1 and my 5 GHz is on 36. They're both under the same name. Apparently my device connects to the 5 GHz connection. I'm not sure which one my laptop connected to but I know it supports g/n. I have also included the basic settings I have on both connections.
 

Attachments

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
change the 5ghz name - just in case something strange is going on - should not be
but i'm at a loss as to why you can see networks - but not yours at the moment - so clutching at straws
 

idiotic-mess

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 19, 2014
Messages
6
Something strange happened. I changed the names and suddenly my wifi connection is recognizable with a stronger signal strength than before (probably from all the tweaking I did). My phone recognizes both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz connections under both names, but my computer only recognizes the 2.4 one. Why is that? I don't need the 5 GHz, I comfortably work on the 2.4 GHz connection, but I would just like to know why one is recognized over the other?
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
because the adapter in the PC does not work on 5Ghz - quite a few PCs still do not work on 5Ghz

glad we have now got it working, knew it was something strange like that ....
 

idiotic-mess

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 19, 2014
Messages
6
Hm, interesting. Well, thanks for the help. I strongly appreciate it. If it weren't for you I probably would've made a few purchases! Have a great night, Wayne!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top