1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] almost a network?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by d2981, Oct 4, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. d2981

    d2981 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    113
    Main System: WinXP, USB Cable Internet, Ethernet Card

    Other System: Win 98, Ethernet Card

    HOW CAN SHARE NET, FILES, and Printer on to the 98 system, without buying any other hardware, i ran the wizzard on xp, then poped the cd in the 98 system, ran the wizzard on there

    I have gotten the comptuers to show the workgroups, and the comptuers there on in them, but not eachother.

    Im guessing, the 98 system, needs some more configuration, with the users or something to sign on and stuff

    CAN ANYON HELP?

    PLEASE

    EVEN JUST FILE/Printer Sharing would Work for ME

    Thank you ahead of time if you can help
     
  2. burdick

    burdick

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    on the 98 machine:

    right click on "network neiborhood"

    click "find computer"

    insert the XP computers name

    this will hopfuly find the xp machine.

    I'm unsure about xp, its most likley the same. Tell us more about your network. What have you done?
     
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Silly question, but is there some kind of cable running between the two computers?????? From the ethernet cards?
     
  4. d2981

    d2981 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    113
    yes, there is a cable:)

    thought that was a given

    everything is set up, same workgroup names, two different computer names

    any other info, u need just let me know, id appreciat it
     
  5. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Nothing is a given for me anymore, I've seen it all ;)

    What kind of cable are you using? I believe you need a cross over between the two computers.

    Right click on the hard drive on both machines, and choose to share the entire hard drive for right now.
     
  6. burdick

    burdick

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    yea crossover from PC to PC...but then u get no internet...

    BUY A ROUTER IF YOU DONT HAVE 1!

    Hows your network setup? DETAILS PLEASE...
     
  7. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    if you don't have a router you need two nic cards in the first computer and you need to install the netbui protocol on both machines
     
  8. burdick

    burdick

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Get with the times man...buy a router, my opinion of course.
     
  9. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Just to be able to file and print share??????
     
  10. jghost5

    jghost5

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    220
    Hey, also both cards have to have the ability to do cross-over like this. Router\gateways are so cheap that it doesn't pay timewise to deal with all of this.....router solves all! Just another IMHO.
     
  11. burdick

    burdick

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    ^ w0rd...
     
  12. d2981

    d2981 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    113
    the 98 system, isnt worth spending the money on a router, that was the point, of asking. for just 2 NIC. thanks for all ur suggestions, for getting a router though, when i get my hands on a athlon xp 64 system i will do that
     
  13. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    You can pick up a router for less than $30 after rebates. I've even seen one free after rebates, occasionally.

    You still should be able to network the two computers using a cross over cable between the two without a router.
     
  14. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    Just to be able to file and print share??????
    acacandy
    one connects to the modem the second does the crossover it sounds like there was only one in each
     
  15. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I guess that's the only thing I was addressing :D
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/170551

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice